March 6, 2009, - 5:50 pm

L.A. Times Movie Writer’s Schlussel Obsession Continues, Big Hollywood Responds; Watchmaniacs Compare Schlussel, Ebert Reviews

By Debbie Schlussel
Remember Patrick Goldstein? He’s the Los Angeles Times Movie Writer who has this fixation with me. He stalks my reviews and comments on the great Big Hollywood site and elsewhere.
In his latest harangue, Goldstein writes a full column devoted to the dissection of my reviews and site and whines that he never heard of me before, and now my reviews are making waves. Heh. His biggest intended insult–since I like Ann Coulter, a great wit, talent, and intellect–is actually a huge compliment:

Schlussel makes the saber-toothed Coulter look like Miley Cyrus.

johnnolte.jpgpatrickgoldstein.jpg

Big Hollywood’s John Nolte Smacks Down

Small-Minded L.A. Times’ Patrick Goldstein Re- Schlussel

Anyway, our friend, the great John Nolte–movie critic and Editor-in-Chief of Big Hollywood (also a screenwriter and director)–writes a great response to Herr Goldstein, making one from me unnecessary, since I couldn’t possibly do better or even close to as good as John’s solid smackdown. A sampling:

My wife and I argue about once a year. It comes from nowhere and starts for no reason. It’s a cleansing of sorts where we burst into a litany of long held grievances: You live in the bathroom! You leave dirty dishes in the sink! You have the TV too loud at night! You drive too fast . . .! Anyone listening to this little rock throwing contest would think we were crazy, and this kind of “crazy” is what came to mind while reading the L.A. Times own Patrick Goldstein’s burst into a fit of rock throwing at Debbie Schlussel. . . .

Read the whole thing.
Meanwhile, some Watchmaniacs (my term for the blind worshipper dweebs who salivate over “Watchmen” and send the world’s wrath your way if you disagree as I did) have spent their oodles of time comparing my negative review of “Watchmen” to that of Roger Ebert (who gave it four stars). They concentrate on a certain area they seem to have more of an obsession with than they claim I do.

Schlussel vs. Ebert

swinging computer-generated penis frequently in your face on-screen
a naked blue man, complete with discreet genitalia

showdown!

Hahaha.

debbieschlusselfoxsmallest.jpgebert.jpg

Obviously, the first quote is from my review, and it’s the accurate one. Roger Ebert loved this trashy movie.
As longtime readers know, this isn’t the first Schlussel v. Ebert. Roger and I have had our tangles (here, here, and here).
He even cited me in one of his movie reviews, in response. But he’s actually a nice guy, despite his completely wrong-headed politics, which often seep into his reviews and definitely dominated his support of Islamic terrorist Ibrahim Parlak.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Print Friendly




38 Responses

goldstein….jewish
schlussel….jewish
maybe he just wants a date
uh debbie, your “review”, wasnt really much of one.
it was pretty much a skreed against hollywood, based on facts not in evidence.
if you had posted an intelligent review, stating calmly why you did not like the movie, not only would no one have commented, but you wouldve gotten no play either on the internets or in the msm.
and we cant have that…can we.
so of course, you filled the “review” with language and images that would get you noticed.
you screamed to the heavens that hollywood wants to pervert the children
you called people who watch films like this, idiots.
what exactly did you expect to happen?
thousands of fans of the book to come to your site and thank you for showing them the error of their ways?
too late.
have you checked the top 10 grossers in the movie biz? most are sci fi or comic book based
while you were sleeping, geek culture has taken hold
we are everywhere
we cannot be stopped
There is nothing wrong with your mind. Do not attempt to adjust the picture. We are controlling transmission. If we wish to make it louder, we will bring up the volume. If we wish to make it softer, we will tune it to a whisper. We will control the horizontal. We will control the vertical. We can roll the image, make it flutter.
We can change the focus to a soft blur or sharpen it to crystal clarity.
For the rest of your life, sit quietly and we will control all that you see and hear. We repeat, there is nothing wrong with your mind. You are about to participate in a great adventure.
You are about to experience the awe and mystery which reaches from the inner mind to… The Outer Limits
now please….go back to screaming about how obama is a commie bastard and how he is ready to turn america over to the islamic horde, just so he can buy his daughters bigger swing sets

uncle joe mccarthy on March 6, 2009 at 9:31 pm

I’m in an odd mood tonight. Interesting doings at the playground with my daughter…anyway…
I saw Ebert’s revew in my local paper this morning and just had to laugh. He gave it 4 stars. Along those same lines, I saw a 7-9 year old boy with a Watchmen t-shirt. I just shook my head.
(OT, but I just had to share. It was apparently the “Salute to the House of Saud” at my kid’s local park. Full black hijabs, robes and everything. We were all congregated around one of the smaller slides playing. A young man had a pug on a leash. I loves me some puppies, so I was playing with the dog. A little boy (approx. 1-1.5 yrs) came up and pet the dog. Oops. Mama wasn’t too pleased with Junior. Dog owned by an infidel Christian, complete with cross tattoo. Not good. *snicker* Is it wrong that I found the whole situation totally hilarious? I didn’t laugh out loud until I called my husband to relate the tale.
And then I told him how bloody freaked out I was.)
*sits back to await any flames*

cirrus1701 on March 6, 2009 at 9:49 pm

cirrus1701
care to tell the tale over again…this time in proper english? thank you.
and of course, like debbie, you think one kid wearing a t-shirt is proof of marketing.

uncle joe mccarthy on March 6, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Uncle Joe McCarthy,
Get real. How many mature adults are really going to go to a comic book movie? There is no way the movie is going to gross more than a $100,000,000 on adults alone. Of course, they are going to market it to kids to make a profit, as Debbie stated in her review about the movie. And they are, and the action figures, lunch boxes, etc. are proof of it. You evidently lack common sense.
Anyway, why would any sane human being WANT to see this bloody, sick movie? You guys have no class and no idea what “culture” is.

Gabe on March 6, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Gabe,
300 was a comic book movie…it was rated r…it had graphic violence and sex…it grossed 456 million world wide
sin city was a comic book movie…also rated r…for graphic violence and nudity…it grossed 158 million world wide
dc direct makes action figures of all its properties
most action figures are purchased by older teens and adults
btw, those lunch boxes? being sold only from collector sites…and they run around 20 bux…they are not at target or toy r us
but fine, lets say that the movie is being marketed to kids
if a parent allows a child to see this movie, then blame the parent…not the studio, which is there to make money, like any good capitalist institution
personal responsibility…isnt that the mantra of you wingnuts?
dont you have that pasted on your wall, right next to drill, baby, drill?

uncle joe mccarthy on March 6, 2009 at 10:58 pm

*if a parent allows a child to see this movie, then blame the parent…not the studio, which is there to make money, like any good capitalist institution
personal responsibility…isnt that the mantra of you wingnuts?
dont you have that pasted on your wall, right next to drill, baby, drill?
Posted by: uncle joe mccarthy at March 6, 2009 10:58 PM*
Please. I’m a teacher, and I had a middle school student state he saw the Friday 13th movie the Monday after it came out. Kids go to R rated movies all the time, and the studios know this. That is why they are marketing this trash to kids. Also, what do people abroad think of America when they see this trash in foreign countries? This is their impression of America, and thanks to you classless liberals, no wonder so many foreigners have a negative impression of America.
*most action figures are purchased by older teens and adults*
Really? What adults buy action figures?

Gabe on March 6, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Gabe
Really? What adults buy action figures?
guess you have never attended comic con, or met my ex boss, who has a store room filled with action figures.
so you have a kid in your class whose parents are idiots…who woulda thunk it.
thats right…blame the capitalist pigs for the moronic parents.
now, if we were socialists, that wouldnt happen…right?
so why fight it.

uncle joe mccarthy on March 6, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Since becoming a fan I always feared that Debbie might become the victim of a crazy islamist. After reading some of the Watchmen fans comments become more and more nasty I am starting to think one of those crazy 40 year old virgin fans of the graphic novel may be more dangerous.

samurai on March 6, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Maybe it’s the vote to ban gay marriage that has them all up in a lather as well and the two things together are too much to deal with rationally.

samurai on March 6, 2009 at 11:49 pm

*so you have a kid in your class whose parents are idiots…who woulda thunk it.
thats right…blame the capitalist pigs for the moronic parents.
now, if we were socialists, that wouldnt happen…right?
so why fight it.
Posted by: uncle joe mccarthy at March 6, 2009 11:38 PM*
Uncle Joe McCarthy,
No, the student went to the movie without his parents knowing. It is very easy for kids under 17 to sneak into R rated movies. And the studios know this, which is why they advertise them to kids, like the Watchmen. You constantly talk about “personal responsibility.” What about the responsiblity of studio executives?
In any case, your moniker of “Uncle Joe McCarthy” and digs at capitalism are ironic because you evidently have no knowledge of communism and Hollywood. Leftists were always the ones persecuting those with American values, not the other way around:http://online.wsj.com/article/SB115757993223555601.html?mod=todays_us_personal_journal
It is too bad that the leftists won out in the end, which is why we have trash like the Watchmen marketed towards kids. It is a downward spiral, showing how low our culture has gone.

Gabe on March 7, 2009 at 12:09 am

“send the world’s wraith your way if you disagree like i did”
No, idiot, that is not why we “sent the world’s wraith your way”. I could care less whether or not you enjoyed Watchmen. It’s that you insulted everyone who enjoys the comic book culture. Not to mention calling us sick, depraved lunatics. I know the difference between real violence and fake violence. Case in point: One of my family members once tried to show me a video of the Budd Dwyer suicide tape online. When I saw what happened, I turned away and felt sick. It disturbed me for days. I got extremely angry at my cousin for showing me the video. Now, I have seen violent movies since I was in my teens. If I was so desensitized, that wouldn’t have bothered me at all. So, your “brilliant” review doesn’t hold water at all. It’s just a typical attempt of an extremist (you are an extremist) pushing her morals on everyone else. I hope the reactions you are getting here makes you think about how you go about your life, passing judgment on everyone.

doc on March 7, 2009 at 9:55 am

I don’t watch movies, read comic books…errr fairy tales. I have grown up and don’t need to be told a story for two hours of something that never happened or will never happen. I rarely read Debbie’s movie reviews not because I disagree with her reviews but Hollywood is trash and won’t allow myself to waste 2 hours to watch trash.
This summer someone paid for my ticket to watch a fairy tale called Hancock. Again to allow yourself to even consider such things to happen or get entertainment out of stupid overacting all with the liberal notion of how our society should behave sends my mind in a coma.
Now these comic book freaks cant handle someone criticized a movie based on a comic book. I haven’t seen this many comments about Debbie’s movie reviews. So they believe only those comic book people believe that the only criticism should come within their comic book community yet market it to the whole world. Get real. Grow up again.
As for movie critic Patrick Goldstein, he is just another liberal who goes ape when a true Conservative speaks their mind unabashed. His comment “Schlussel makes the saber-toothed Coulter look like Miley Cyrus” is an attempt to put Debbie out to extreme. So Debbie takes out Oprah, Obama, Tyra, Lisa Ling and this comic book movie…errr fairy tale Watchmen and I guess Hollywood is freaking. All these entities are passing their sickness onto to society and society is lapping it up. Debbie points out their motives and sickness and now a jihad has come her way. Oh well, I think she can handle it. And to Goldstein, Debbie is the real deal, as much as I like Anne as well, she has schtick.

californiascreaming on March 7, 2009 at 11:14 am

Way to go, Debbie! You nailed it and Goldstein failed to make you look bad. NOTHING, is more important to our future than protecting our children from filling their heads with crap, political or otherwise! People DO NOT get it. And clearly Goldstein doesn’t get it, either. Unfortunately for him, he comes off sounding like the boy at school who has a crush on a girl so talks trash about her hoping she will hear about him and she’ll know he exists. Sad.

Nora on March 7, 2009 at 12:27 pm

californiascreaming
you are a sad person. one does not “grow up” when one chooses to stop being entertained…all that happens is that one becomes boring and bitter, like you.
had debbie reviewed the movie, no one wouldve cared. that was not enough for her. she had to use her review to not only attack the film maker and hollywood, but fans of the genre.
she then became outraged when the same fans attempted to fight back
this is what you wingnuts do. you attack, and when attacked back, you scream in outrage. you are all cowards.

uncle joe mccarthy on March 7, 2009 at 1:21 pm

Debbie, your blog entertains me.
Your fans scare the hell out of me.

John Steele on March 7, 2009 at 2:46 pm

i never thought i would write these words, but the only sane people commenting on this website are the geeks.
everyone else is behaving like a raging 5 year old who wants attention. one of those weirdos claims to be a teacher no less.
this tells us a lot about our general education system when a teacher is incapable of forming an unbiased opinion and then formulation said opinion in a decent way, based on facts.
Watchmen is a part of our culture, like it or not but don’t resort to book burning and witch hunting
because you personally don’t like something someone else does. and in this case don’t like because never heard of it – how moronic is that? do you live in caves miles underground with no contact to other people from the surface?
the middle ages are a long time gone now. act like grown ups. act a little more decent. act a little more like those you call “geeks” and morons and whatnot.
i am considering buying a Rorschach action-figure now just for the heck of it. i will place it on my desk to remind me of the fact that there are still a lot of disturbed people out in the world.
a lot of who run websites and feel superior to their common men.

Johann Krauser on March 7, 2009 at 2:49 pm

I was going to leave an intelligent comment citing the many ways in which you are wrong. But then I decided against it because you’re a attention whore who gets off on pissing off as many people as possible. You don’t think before you write, you don’t do research, you don’t well, do much of anything aside from whine about how the whole worlds scares you.
Your just a stupid little cunt that no one will remember after you die. Have fun because you’re not making a difference.

JimmyJames on March 7, 2009 at 2:51 pm

I wonder if Gene Siskel was a conversative? He definitely sounded like it in many reviews (see especially his argument with Ebert over the 1998 terrorist-themed movie The Siege).

Mike L on March 7, 2009 at 5:09 pm

“I don’t watch movies, read comic books…errr fairy tales. I have grown up and don’t need to be told a story for two hours of something that never happened or will never happen.” — californiascreaming
I kind of laughed at that, then I died a bit inside. You’re pretty much saying that you don’t watch any movies at all that aren’t documentaries, then. Am I wrong? I really do find it hard to believe.
Also, it’s unbelievably closed-minded to say that comic books are only for kids. Not to beat a dead horse (I know most of these were already mentioned), but Sin City and 300 were based off of comic books and neither the comics nor the movies were intended for children. I’m not a big comic book fan, and I loved Sin City. I also loved V for Vendetta, which is also based off of a comic book/graphic novel/what have you. It was also written by the same man, Alan Moore.
Also, as far as the whole “Watchmen being marketed towards kids” thing…can it. It’s more than obvious that this movie was aimed at adults, for two reasons. The first is that the story of Watchmen is not a stereotypical “good guy fights bad guy and wins and gets the girl, too” story. Most of the plot will fly over the heads of grade school kids. The second, and the most obvious, is the R rating. R rated movies earn their rating. No parent with an ounce of common sense will walk into the theater and buy tickets for them and their kids to see Watchmen expecting a take-off on Spiderman or X-Men. And any parent that does will be advised against it by the ticket seller before s/he takes their money.

Fire Starter KD on March 7, 2009 at 5:22 pm

CaliforniaScreaming, you truely are a tragic person. Is there any joy in your life? How was Hancock a liberal fairy tale. And again, you moronic fans of Debbie have missed the point entirely. We are not mad that she didn’t like the movie. I couldn’t care less. It’s the fact that she insulted fans of this genre. But I don’t know why I’m addressing you. You obviously have no ability to think outside the box or use logic in any way.
By the way, I just came back from the movie (strangely free of any desire to go rape, pillage, or murder). The theater was about three-quarters full. I got there early and watched the people coming in. NOT ONE CHILD. There were a few older teenagers, yes, but NOT ONE CHILD. Now, write about a subject that you know well, like censorship, racism, and intolerance.

doc on March 7, 2009 at 5:44 pm

I grew up reading comic books, but then I actually did grow up. I still even consider myself a geek, but I for one had no idea that Watchmen ever existed in any form, much less comic book form.
It might be be time for the Watchmen/Sin City genre to be listed under a new classification. Peter Pan Syndrome sounds like a good name for this genre. And please don’t use ‘geek’ to describe yourselves; pervs is much more fitting.
Hmmm, I wonder if pornography has a comic book form and is considered “part of the genre”? So much to reclassify and so little time…

BWR on March 7, 2009 at 7:06 pm

doc growing up really has nothing to do with it. If you ignore the R rating and allow your children to see this movie then you have failed as a parent. At most for those kids who do sneak in you should blame the cinema workers for not doing there jobs.
uncle joe mccarthy amazingly enough there are older people who do buy action figures. But I bet your conservativeness could never comprehend this concept of people being different.
Debbie needs to realize the rating is there for a reason. If no one uses it then oh well that’s their fault. It’s like the parents who buy Grand theft auto games for their kids then complain about companies making such horrible games. I will laugh when this movie goes over 100,000 in earnings this weekend.

skiks on March 7, 2009 at 8:22 pm

I was on the NBC SNL board and there was an ad for free WATCHMEN previews:
http://www.nbc.com/watchmen/
No way kids can see that?

barrypopik on March 7, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Many propagandists on the left have very brittle egos, from the White House on down (or up in this case). Their ideas have no substance, and are usually childish tantrums. So they lash out on those who disagree with them, first as a tantrum, and second, they have been conditioned by the PC environment they live in to believe that the press and their readers will all agree with them, and scoring debators’ points is more important to them than the actual content of what they are saying. Spin doctors for instance.
This reminds me, adjusted for proportion, of the villification of Rush by these dimwits.

c f on March 8, 2009 at 8:34 am

As a 23 year old, white British woman I’m far from the target audience of Watchmen, and you know what? I went to see it yesterday and I enjoyed it. Because I can see it as it is – a film. Just a film. There are far bigger evils in the world than a film based on a graphic novel which yes, does contains extreme violence. Like 300, V for Vendetta and Sin City you shouldn’t take it seriously, and if people are crazy enough to copy it in real life then obviously they were too disturbed to begin with.
Insulting fans of Watchmen by calling them ‘morons’ and ‘paedos’ shows exactly how professional you are, Ms Schlussel. It doesn’t matter what you think of them, but if you had shown them some courtesy they would have shown you some too.
I should add that over here in the UK Watchmen got the 18 rated certificate. Which means no-one under 18 would’ve gotten to see it. Therefore it should be even clearer than the R-rating it got that it isn’t aimed at children.

uchiha_naruto on March 8, 2009 at 5:19 pm

Debbie,
I usually read your reviews before I go see a movie but forgot for this one and boy am I sorry. I will never get those 2 and a half hours back. The plot was awful, maybe it would have been better if the flashbacks flowed better but it just made it seem like it would never end. Get to the point already! While I loved 300, this was a disappointment. I did see several parents bring their children too, awful. I thought it had grotesque violence just for the sake of violence. Was there a point of seeing the little girls leg bone with the shoe still attached? Whatever happened to the art of implication?

Minnie Mouse on March 8, 2009 at 6:12 pm

And here I was thinking this was just another immature super hero movie. I can’t wait to not go see it.
Any male over 15 who still reads comics is a pathetic dweeb.
Ebert makes Yoda look like the Marlboro man in that pic.

Tempus Fugit on March 8, 2009 at 6:23 pm

As a 28 year old woman, I have been reading comics and graphic novels for years. I never got into them as a child. And I can tell you, I am sitting next to my comic-book shelf right now, and maybe three or four titles out of 30 to 40 of my comics could ever be considered as “marketed for children” or even as “general audience.” Many contain violence, some contain sex, and all of them address adult issues and themes such as relationships and friendships and jobs, and marriages and divorces, and all of those themes you see in dramas and comedies and pretty much anything out there. Comics are not child’s play anymore, and haven’t been for a very long time. Even before the Comics Code was revoked, there were underground publishers printing comics for adults.
I don’t think I even have seen a child in a comic book store in a long time. Comics have become an adult-oriented industry, and are rated the same as tv and movies. The Watchemen has been around a while, and was NEVER EVER marketed or sold to children.
The idea that parents are irresponsible enough to bring children to an “R” rated movie is not the fault of the movie theater, the movie studios, or the fans who go see the movies. Personally, I’d like to slap anyone who did it.
I do think it’s incredibly insulting for you and others commenting here to say that people who like comics are pedos or perverts or anything. Of all the problems in this big wide world, the Watchmen, and comic book fans, are certainly one of the least of them. Go spank the irresponsible parents and get therapy for the kids, Kthax.

Comic Book Girl on March 9, 2009 at 12:36 am

Minnie Mouse
there were numerous reviews posted online prior to the opening…you didnt read any? hard to believe
and while i am a fan of the book and enjoyed the movie, i agree that the scene you mention was played out wrong.
now maybe zack did it, because the way it plays out in the book is much more subtle, and it seems from comments from those who have seen the movie, much of the other subtle moments went right over their heads…but in the book, rorshach does not break down the door, he comes through the backyard gate…he sees the dogs fighting over a bone…he continues to investigate and finds the girls torn clothes…he and the reader put two and two together, and then he returns to the yard and slices up the dogs. he also doesnt use a meat cleaver on the perv…he spreads gasoline through his home and burns him alive…which i think is much cooler, as it makes him suffer.

uncle joe mccarthy on March 9, 2009 at 3:11 am

To everyone calling comic book fans “childish”, telling them they need to “grow up”, I have a very wise quote from fellow Christian, C.S. Lewis:
“Critics who treat adult as a term of approval, instead of as a merely descriptive term, cannot be adult themselves. To be concerned about being grown up, to admire the grown up because it is grown up, to blush at the suspicion of being childish; these things are the marks of childhood and adolescence. And in childhood and adolescence they are, in moderation, healthy symptoms. Young things ought to want to grow. But to carry on into middle life or even into early manhood this concern about being adult is a mark of really arrested development. When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.”

lexid523 on March 9, 2009 at 9:13 am

I agree that the desire of the entertainment industry to make the heroes as bad as possible and the bad guys as redeeming as possible in the providing of “sophisticated” entertainment gets old after a while. They don’t want to create caricatures, but what would you call the Nixon/Reagan character in the movie?
Balanced? Nuanced? Believable in any way? I mean really, who sets out the blow up the world on purpose? Also the moral relativism in the context of a cold war between the US and the USSR is hardly nuanced, intelligent, or sophisticated.
All that being said, I think the movie was better than most movies out there, but definitely should not be seen by children.
In terms of making comments about comic books, its just another form of communication. To say that comic books are good or bad, is like saying movies or books of fiction are good or bad. Some works stand the test of time, others deserve to be promptly flushed down the proverbial toilet.
I wish Hollywood made more movies about heroes. The heroes can be flawed (see Gran Torino) while still clearly being heroes. Some spiritual uplift would be nice once in a while. Western civilization appears to digesting itself in the worst form of self-cannabalism.

JSobieski on March 9, 2009 at 11:21 am

BWR: “It might be be time for the Watchmen/Sin City genre to be listed under a new classification. Peter Pan Syndrome sounds like a good name for this genre. And please don’t use ‘geek’ to describe yourselves; pervs is much more fitting.”
Comics are a *form*, not a *genre*. Sin City is noir; Watchmen is literary fiction which happens to be about superheroes.
You’re about twenty years late to the party–this debate about whether the form of comics could fit itself to any genre (like film or prose can) was, to anyone paying attention, settled in the mid-1980s, largely due to “Watchmen”, though “Maus” and, to a certain degree, “The Dark Knight Returns” played a role.
“Hmmm, I wonder if pornography has a comic book form and is considered “part of the genre”? So much to reclassify and so little time…”
Of course it does. This is as ridiculous a question as asking whether pornography has a video form, or a prose form. But it’s not “part of the genre”, because *comics is not a genre*, not any more than “movies” or “novels” are genres. Once you understand that, this will all make much more sense to you.

grendelkhan on March 9, 2009 at 12:02 pm

A lot of the debate misses a critical point, which is the fundamental historical tone-deafness of Alan Moore’s original 1986 work, which is made stunningly ludicrous by intervening events.
See:
http://wcollier.blogspot.com/2009/03/watching-watchmen.html
Finally, and perhaps least importantly, Watchmen is Zach Snyder’s political apology to Hollywood for having made the conservative-embraced 300. The Comedian, a ridiculous characature of American conservatives in the comic, is rendered even more evil and psychotic on the big screen, as is every other character to the right of, say, Lenin. The original book was, by author Alan Moore’s own admission, deliberately written as an anti-Reagan screed, but as an attendee at an early screening noted (as recounted by reviewer Alexandra DuPont at AICN),
“Watchmen’s brand of dystopian misanthropy has been specifically refuted by events. It’s one thing to worry about the evil U.S. policies of containment and mutually-assured destruction in 1986. It’s one thing to paint a particular political party as being unconstitutionally obsessed with the possession of power and recklessly in pursuit of nuclear confrontation with an enemy who probably wasn’t so bad.
“But as it turns out, that entire worldview was vitiated by events. In 1989 the Berlin Wall fell and the Cold War ended. Reagan’s strategic policy decisions vis-a-vis the Soviet Union were completely vindicated. MAD proved to be an effective deterrent. The conflict between the East and West was settled without a shot being fired. And, perhaps most importantly, the Truman/Kennedy/Reagan view of communism as an insidious ideology which led to violent, repressive authoritarianism was borne out.
“So Moore was wrong. His fears were wrong. His warnings were wrong. His fundamental view of the world was wrong. And ‘Watchmen,’ in particular, is left as a bizarre cultural artifact. A pretentious piece of commentary masquerading as philosophy.”
Not only does Snyder’s film fail to even remotely acknowledge how thoroughly wrong Moore’s by-the-numbers leftism turned out to be, he lards on additional political cheap shots to go with Moore’s 80′s-era Reagan Derangement Syndrome, to the point of lauding an American-Soviet alliance at the end of the movie. Just what moral sense an alliance with the dictatorship that spent most of the 20th Century with its boot in the face of half the planet makes, is a question neither Snyder nor Moore ever bothered to ask of themselves.

ibn Abu on March 10, 2009 at 10:09 am

Roger Ebert has become the most influential movie critic in the industry by writing intelligent reviews of the movie based on content and literary significance.
You jumped on the chance to insult an incredibly popular movie with a large cult following and essentially get yourself noticed in much the same way as a schizophrenic crackwhore ripping her shirt open and screaming “NOTICE MEEEEEE!!!” in the center of a downtown office building lobby.
When Roger Ebert does not like a movie, he politely suggests moviegoers watch something else. When you do not like a movie, you enthusiastically cheer for the mass genocide of everybody who does.
You, ma’am, are no Roger Ebert. It seems that all you can do is shout “moral outrage” at things you don’t like, which is the rallying cry of the unenlightened and their brainwashed sycophantic hordes, and sounds hypocrticial when coming from the diseased mind of a narcissistic fascist who named her column after a pornographic movie.
Perhaps when you proclaim yourself a champion of family values you should first strive to establish a little consistency in your efforts.
This is not coming from a fan of the movie, but from someone who thinks you give Conservativism a bad name by being a loathsome human being. Of course, that is only my opinion, just as it is only your opinion that the relatives of people who like “Watchmen” should die violent deaths. We are both entitled to being wrong.

4JTV5 on March 10, 2009 at 6:21 pm

“The Watchmen” fanatics will tolerate no criticism of their movie. They attacked Debbie’s gender, her being a Jew and whatever ad hominem insults they could come up. What they didn’t want to do is discuss the movie. On the original thread, she didn’t even clean up some spam, purposely – so people could see the intelligence and morality of some of the people who decided to make it “personal.” Doesn’t say much for them or for the movie they’re so fond of. To say its a “trashy movie,” I think she was being kind. Its far worse and a true description of it isn’t worth repeating in polite company. Debbie is too classy to do that and as a man, I could say it but I won’t sink to their level. All that needs to be added is their statements here literally tell the tale.

NormanF on March 12, 2009 at 2:26 am

LOL. CRY MOAR.
Quit with the weird hooker makeup and i’ll try to take you seriously.

cvf on March 21, 2009 at 2:08 pm

Hiya Debbie. Me again. You may have found this out already, but nothing bothers me more then people who group other people into different stereotypes, and then lampoons that entire quadrant for liking what they like. I hold back from debating on points such as this when the original poster is clear that their dislike of the film is a personal opinion, but it’s hard to keep quiet when someone such as yourself (and to a lesser extent, some of your fans) attacks everyone who has enjoyed the graphic novel and film (and as you’ve probably realised already, that group of people is pretty substantial in this case).

Watchmen is widely regarded as a masterpiece, and I understand that to the uninformed, that statement could be given the same amount of weight as to a toddler, whom screeches that Bob the Builder is the greatest thing in the world. In this case however, and I know I’m not going to be able to convince you of this so removed from the reality of pop culture and modern media that you are, the Watchmen comic is a true milestone of the modern age. And the film, especially the Ultimate Cut, is a very decent representative of that.

No parent who is right in the head would think Watchmen is for children after seeing the trailers, and even those with doubt in their minds should have turned away at the box office when they find out it’s an ‘R’ rating, and as such, not suitable for their 4 year old toddler.

And there is a big difference between violence that is included as no more then pointless eye pornography, and violence that is necessary to emphasise character and plot development. As a ‘movie critic’, I would have thought you should have known that.

Anyhoos, just to let you know, I’m currently aiming towards achieving the highest grade possible for my university year group with my analytical thesis on the use of binary opposition and deconstructive critique within Watchmen and other Modern Age comic books. I’ve been surrounded with more Watchmen paraphernalia in the past few weeks then possibly the most hardcore fan. Yet still, I feel as if sitting here, beneath my bookshelf full of subversive graphic novels and my Comedian action figure, that I have hardly scratched the surface of what the franchise is about. I have learnt more about the guttural response of true humanity from Watchmen then I have from anything else in my life. And it’s pretty unsettling to know that, dear god, I feel as if I don’t know anything about the true nature of things at all.

Oh well… at least Blake would be laughing.

Bex on November 21, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Good evening. If you want to be respected, you must respect yourself. Help me! Need information about: How stock market prices are determined. I found only this – copper stock market prices. National costs of treason and appraisal have been starting profits for three goods therefore, stock market prices. The afraid example investors take get the overwhelming hedge supply houses and not mean the common prices continue each legal, stock market prices. With respect :cool:, Hannah from Africa.

Hannah on March 18, 2010 at 2:48 am

Leave a Reply

* denotes required field