November 12, 2009, - 6:48 pm

HOprah Watch: Oprah Previews Palin Interview

By Debbie Schlussel

So, today, Oprah posted this video, below, in which she previews her interview with Sarah Palin, airing on Monday’s Oprah daytime gab-fest.  I predict that Oprah treats Sarah Palin with kid-gloves, and it’s a win-win for both of them, selling a lot of books for the brief Alaska Governor.  So far, the one clip of the interview–which Andrea Mitchell showed on NBC Nightly News–shows 1) the kid glove treatment, and 2) a Sarah Palin that sounds far more articulate than what we’ve seen in previous interviews, even with a friendly Sean Vannity and Greta Van Surgery.  I’m sure Palin was heavily coached for this by her advisors, book people, and ghost writer.  But, based on what I’ve seen, she performs better than usual, and this can only help propel Going Rogue: An American Life even higher.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Print Friendly



Tags: , , , , , ,

20 Responses

I haven’t seen the clip of the interview, but this small excerpt says a lot about Oprah’s vacuous interviews and verbiage.

Duh, we talked about her marriage, her pregnancy, her daughter’s pregnancy, how she ‘felt’ about the campaign, Levi Johnston,

Duuhh — everything. Nothing missing? What about her political views? Right or wrong, she has them. It is a symptom of the hollowness of TV commentary that someone like Oprah is a lead interviewer of political figures.

Sounds like Oprah is trying to improve her ratings and get some of Palin’s supporters as regular listeners. She can probably do it as long as she discusses personal issues and stays away from politics, It probably wouldn’t be a win-win situation if they discussed politics.

Little Al on November 12, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Dear Debbie, I always wondered about your voracious appetite for anything Oprah I’m beginnig to feel its professional jealousy at its worst. Oprah isn’t running for anything and doesn’t raise anyones taxes. She has a successful but dumb show with mind numb idiots watching. Totally inconsequential to anything important. I’m not a fan but your attacks seem unjustified.

S: Jealous of her? Hilarious. She’s a miserable woman. You clearly haven’t read and/or comprehended a thing I write about Oprah in many, many posts over the years. She is the single most powerful influence on America’s women. And she is a dangerous far leftist who glorifies homicide bombers, Islam, and single motherhood, and hates men. These are the kinds of things we critique on this site. If you don’t get that, you’re not a fan and you don’t get it. If she were inconsequential as you incorrectly believe, she would not have the power to influence markets, sales, and everything else the way she does. Have you forgotten that she made the beef market fall when she said she wouldn’t eat another burger? Have you forgotten her active support and campaign for the election of Barack Obama? Please read this and tell me if this does not bother you and is something you’ll pawn off as professional jealousy:
http://www.oprahsucks.com
DS

seahawker on November 12, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    OOOOOppppss!!!!! I stand corrected, of course you are right about all you’ve stated above and she vehemently attacks men. I however never pay any attention to her rants or never watch her show and find her inconsequential. P.S. you’re wrong about me not being a huge fan of yours I find that you do God’s work saving us all from ourselves.

    seahawker on November 12, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Also seahawker, HOpra has persuaded the City of NY to close a major artery next year for some stupid street party she plans to have. A major artery in NYC during rush hour and beyond. I don’t remember the details but you can search it.

    MK750 on November 13, 2009 at 4:47 am

Debbie, you don’t like her much that is clear but what is your view of her autobiography and the publicity tour she’s going on? Sounds to me in view of what you wrote above that she’s getting a better reception than she got during the presidential campaign last year and now she’s getting national exposure. Don’t know what that means for her political future but I don’t think there’s any doubt she’s laying (has a PAC) the groundwork for a run for the GOP presidential nomination in 2012. That’s usually what ex-Governors do with a book.

NormanF on November 12, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Seahawker and Debbie owns the site Oprahsucks.com which tells you what she really thinks about America’s day time show host.

NormanF on November 12, 2009 at 7:49 pm

I will be watching… Cannot help it, I love Sarah

sharon on November 12, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Palin is going for fame, fortune and power. Yawn.

CaliforniaScreaming on November 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm

I hate Horca too much to watch, and I’m disgusted but not shocked that Palin is going on her show….The money must be good, although I can’t believe Palin needs or wants Horca’s seal of approval just to sell more books. She’s already got the #1 book on Amazon and its not even out yet. For me personally, Palin lost the last ounce of questionable credibility she had left. I know you’re not a fan Debbie, and I agree with you on you’re sentiments concerning Palin, but if it were a choice between her and the foul stench that occupies the house now, I’d choose the faux conservative over the Muslim usurper hands down.
I won’t be watching Horca and I’ll look forward to your commentary next week about the interview. I know its a dirty job but someone has to watch and clue us in……Thanks for all your hard work! BTW you’ve saved me a ton of money with your movie reviews:)

perception of truth on November 13, 2009 at 12:59 am

I think I will save the knives for the enemy. Palin is not the enemy.

pat on November 13, 2009 at 1:24 am

Since this Obama administration has been in power, I see real trouble ahead. This radical Muslim issue just raised its ugly head in Fort Hood, it is previews of coming attractions. Energy and mid-east oil, when we could be energy independent. The debt, lack of jobs, jobs going to China. Palin strikes a nerve, she has a pair, she looks tough and just might think outside the box and kick some,ASS. Maybe its Annie Oakley we need with all these limp wristed politically correct pansies. I am tired of all this multicultureism, and diversity, it is phoney! Language, Culture, and Borders, simple!

Delta George on November 13, 2009 at 1:42 am

“Frontier Mom” Sarah got’s a new hairdo, takes on Obama’s long lost sister and is in fact the “Arctic Fox” many fear.

Oprah has spent way too much time watching “Gone With the Wind” over the years: She doesn’t know what to do with Steadman’s balls that she took from him years ago. As Mike Tyson pounds an annoying photog in the airport, Sarah warms up by sitting across from Oprah, who just can’t miss out on bringing up Couric’s beat down. These stupid woman’s shows will continue and Sarah may join in for the jousting, however, it won’t do that much for her except for toning up her debating skills.

Major Hasan rests in a hospital room while spooks posing as medical help comfort him. Meanwhile, a real leader, Colin Powell comforts and guides Obama on his “retreat” from Afghanistan as he goes from one military base to another pretending he has his balls when real men know Michelle’s got’em at home in Al Gore’s lock box!

Sarah likes Todd just the way he is…note how fresh she looks and how easy she is around men! And that is why some women just can’t stand her…

She reminds me of a younger Ambassador Kirpatrick.

RJ on November 13, 2009 at 6:23 am

Tinfoil Hat Alert:

Could this be an insidious attempt by the left-wing w*oring Oprah to keep Palin in the spot light? While Mrs. Palin may be mildly popular, it is my humble opinion she cannot carry the national election. If Oprah and the rest of the lefties keep Palin out there and get her on the ticket in 2012, BHO is assured a second term. Posturing for the 2010 and 2012 elections has begun and Oprah has a horse in the race-her fellow Chicago left-winger BHO. She wants him back, she needs him back, and will stop at nothing to ensure he wins again. If that means pandering to Palin to sink the Conservatives, so be it,she will happily to it.

Sean on November 13, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Sean, Oprah is in trouble, she needs better ratings: Palin provides that. Oprah has a real problem with Steadman. She loves Obama…and may really really like Michelle. It’s a long way to those forthcoming elections and former Gov. Palin has much work to do. The left wing has no intention of taking their spotlight or anyone else’s that they can capture off Sarah Palin for they know she is the most deadly player in the game!

    You wanted a President of color that wasn’t white, right? You got him. You wanted a woman President, right? Didn’t get her, now did you? Wasn’t the right kind of woman for you, right?

    Well, guess what…I got a woman for you! Get in your Conestoga wagon and ride with Miss Palin! She’ll not only love you during the adventure, she will bear your children and fight the bad guys whenever needed!

    Scares the hell out of a lot of women and many many men! You betcha!

    RJ on November 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

I have said this before and will say so again, it’s a pity ABC7 here in NYC can’t go back to their glory days with this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEmmTnthgI4

Which would then be followed by this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eE6CTjSwH9I

Bob Porrazzo on November 13, 2009 at 11:46 am

Palin did her usual rambling when asked simple questions. She really gets on my nerves and bores me to tears. How she became a Governor is beyond me. She`s the white female Jesse Jackson as far as communicating goes.

Hermster on November 13, 2009 at 1:24 pm

I know that Debbie doesn’t think that Sarah Palin has much substance but at least she supports Israel. Read Camile Paglia’s articles on Palin.

A: Uh, no she doesn’t. She openly supports a “two state solution” and praised Condoleeza Rice’s pressuring of Israel, saying that was a priority. I know far more about Palin’s position on Israel than that lesbian weirdo Paglia. I don’t need to read her to be informed, but it sounds like reading her misinforms, as in your case. DS

Arius on November 13, 2009 at 2:06 pm

I abhor HOprah and mqany women I know do as well. I also think Palin is a lightweight and could care less about her and the baggage that she is carting around on her publicity tour. I would rather see Michelle Bachmann contend for the GOP party in 2012 than Palin. Bachmann is a more intelligent and a better suited candidate than the ex beauty queen Palin.

B: Amen to it all. DS

Big G from The "D" on November 14, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    I noticed the catty comment about “ex beauty queen”. Yup, Palin is beautiful and intelligent and that seems to bother some people. BTW: Bachmann totally mishandled Chrissy Matthews and that almost cost her her last election. I happen to donate money to Bachmann’s campaign and I am a supporter but she should know better than to go on “tingle legs” show.

    JulieJ. on November 15, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

* denotes required field