August 30, 2010, - 4:23 pm

“Big Arab Love” @ the Movies: A Review of Anti-Israel, Pan-Muslim Fantasy “Cairo Time”

By Debbie Schlussel

Because of my debilitating migraine headache, Friday, I couldn’t get to my usual movie reviews, only the second time since I began reviewing movies that I’ve skipped reviewing them (the first was the Friday that I was in mourning over the death of my late father).  But I’ll post my reviews of the new debuts I missed on Friday very soon.  In the meantime, I cannot wait on reviewing–and telling you to skip–one of the movies I saw, “Cairo Time.”  More like “Pan-Muslim Fantasy, Hate On Israel Time.”

Watch the trailer . . .

This is one of the slowest, most boring, waste of time movies I’ve encountered in the film world.  Pro-Muslim propagandist Ruba Nadda–a half-Palestinian, half-Syrian director from Canada–wrote and directed this story about a WASPY, aging American woman, Patricia Clarkson, who vacations in Cairo, where she plans to meet her husband, Mark, a United Nations worker at a Palestinian refugee camp in Gaza.  But her plans are ruined because of the Israelis.  Of course, they don’t outright tell you that, but it is implied with constant references to “the so-called ceasefire,”  and the attacks on the camps which “inflamed” things, etc. and a later scene in which a bus is stopped by those evil Zionists a/k/a Israeli soldiers.

And the propaganda in this movie is most far from that “subtle.”  Without a hint of the extremism and hatred for America and Americans that is rampant in Egypt, everything in this movie’s version of Cairo is charming, from the Islamic call to prayer to which Clarkson enjoys being awoken, to the ugly light blue rag her hotel suite maid wears on her head.  “Your hijab is sooooo beautiful.”  Clarkson enjoys wearing her own Islamic headscarf, visiting a local mosque, and being enchanted by the Islamic prayer of an imam, in which he says the “Shehadah” (the Islamic oath of martyrdom that tells us there is no god but allah).

Everyone in Egypt is so nice, so charming, so welcoming, so hospitable.  Everyone, including Tareq, who used to work with her husband in the Palestinian refugee camps, but has retired to his native Cairo to have a men’s only coffee shop.  Of course, Clarkson takes no offense to the men’s only coffee shop, even though she is a writer for a Vogue-style women’s fashion magazine, because, after all, feminists don’t mind the degradation of and discrimination against women .  .  . when it’s done by Islam and Muslims.  And, in this vein, Clarkson is flattered after initially being frightened, when numerous Muslim young men follow her.  She remarks that it’s been a while since men paid attention to her.

And then there’s the actor who plays Tareq.  As I’ve noted on this site before, Alexander Siddig a/k/a Siddig El Fadil is the Sudan-born, privileged nephew of Sadiq Al-Mahdi–one of the many former Prime Ministers of Sudan, who are extremist Muslims (redundant phrase) and who engaged in the wholesale gang-rape, torture, and slaughter of the country’s once-flourishing Black Christian population.  And he’s an apologist for that and for his uncle.  Anything this guy stars in–and it seems he’s in every movie and TV show that has a fictional, “moderate” Arab–should be boycotted on that point alone.  (He is a former boyfriend of ‘Sex & the City’s” Samantha a/k/a Kim Catrall.)

Unfortunately, per usual, Tareq is the charming “good guy Muslim” in this movie, and soon, a romance sparks between them, as she awaits her husband.  As I said, everything in Cairo is gorgeous and light and the people are so nice that a poor family in the White Desert even invites Clarkson to a meal.  Everything and everyone is pleasant until . . . until we see the evil, menacing Israeli soldiers, who stop her bus on the way to Gaza and tell Clarkson she must go back to Egypt.  On the bus, Clarkson sits next to a Palestinian college student who hides with her a letter that the evil Israelis must not get their hands on, or there will be big trouble.  What’s in the letter?  That the girl is pregnant with her boyfriend’s baby.  This is the secret letter the evil Israelis would use to harm her? Hilarious.  As if.  Sorry, Ruba Nadda, but you haven’t a clue.  Sadly, the Israelis couldn’t care less about the Palestinian population explosion.  If only . . . .

Other than that, the movie–like I said–is boring, slow, and pointless as hell–kinda like Ms. Nadda’s other pan-Muslim PR flicks.  I’ve seen Ruba Nadda’s “Sabbah,” about an extremely ugly Muslim woman with unibrow and in badly in need of a nosejob and the alleged “prejudice” against her in the outside world of Toronto.  Another boring, baloney movie, in which, in the end, her Muslim family is so welcoming of her non-Muslim boyfriend.

It’s total BS.  Just like “Cairo Time.”

What I would like to know is:  who is funding Ruba Nadda’s cinematic Muslim propaganda, clearly aimed at the West?  The movies are flops.  No-one goes to see them.

But making money isn’t the aim here.  Washing brains is.

FOUR BIN LADENS PLUS AN ARAFAT
binladensmallerbinladensmallerbinladensmallerbinladensmallerplus.jpgtinyarafat

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Print Friendly



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

27 Responses

I disagree. I would rather rate 4x arafats + 1x bin laden ;)

Actual trip to Egypt would cure those women who believe in that movie, and it would be darn quick.

Sometimes you don’t need Egypt. Dubai would do:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jan/08/british-woman-arrested-dubai

gr77 on August 30, 2010 at 5:51 pm

debbie, have you visited Egypt? Have you ever met and talked to Muslims with an open heart? Probably never. That’s why your so racist and bigoted.

i on August 30, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Islam is not a race, you moron. Plus, Muslims are the bigots. Read about what happens to Copts in Egypt.

    Rocky Lore on August 31, 2010 at 2:58 am

The bigotry of low expectations:
It’s OK to have a men’s only cafe.
OK to treat the lady like s***.
OK to tolerate Muslim child abuse….
After all, it’s their ‘culture’
Because, after all- they’re so F***** exotic, y’know. (Not like those damned Jews, with their “gruff burgoise attitudes.”)
The same bigotry that the Brits used to favour the Arabs over the Jews for decades…..and now receiving their just desserts.
The same bigotry US libs like Leonard Bernstein used to favour Cleaver,Carmichael, et al over murdered Jewish shopkeepers.
The same bigotry that the world uses today to buy the Fakestinian narrative.

Not Ovenready on August 30, 2010 at 6:25 pm

dumb debbie (dd) did it again. there’s nothing more to say about this so called review a.k.a. islamophobic bs. inshallah the next migraine will come soon.

Jamal on August 30, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Jamal…. Islam was once exposed to Western reason via Greek philosophy but turned its back on it.

    As long as fanaticism prevails in the councils of Islam, it will never be an attractive philosophy for mankind. It can only prevail in the future as it did in the past, through the use of force.

    NormanF on August 31, 2010 at 12:25 am

    Jamal, you’re a dumb Islamofascist.

    Rocky Lore on August 31, 2010 at 2:59 am

    Best comment I’ve read so far…
    All you ever have to say is hateful and a waste of your time debbie, I suggest an early retirement, but judging those wrinkles I’d say it’s really not that early :)

    suzzie on August 31, 2010 at 7:20 am

Jamal, you’re a migraine so consider her next one as come and gone.

Skunky on August 30, 2010 at 6:36 pm

To the Muslim apologists and propagandists who have posted their nonsense, above: In 1948, there were 75,000 Jews in Egypt. In 1974, the Jewish population was reduced to an estimated 350. It seems that the Egyptian government, largely aided and abetted by the loving, caring, tolerant Egyptian people, expelled the Jews, particularly in 1948 and again in 1956. Most were forced to flee with little more than the clothes on their backs. Their property and money were confiscated; synagogues and Jewish cemetaries were desecrated. The impetus was Arab/Muslim outrage over the establishment of Israel, which was, and is, viewed as a “nakhba,” or catastrophe, by most Muslims, particularly Arab Muslims. There is no official census for the number of Jews remaining in Egypt, but the estimate is that there are fewer than two hundred, all elderly and probably destitute. And the Copts of Egypt, who comprise as much as fifteen percent of the population, are routinely subject to discrimination, including rape and forced conversion of their women to Islam. Yes, Egypt is a welcoming, wonderful place, indeed.

commonsense on August 30, 2010 at 6:52 pm

I would never watch that crap. I would also never watch any Micheal Moorr movie because they’re treasonous. In my opinion they should track the scum who frequent these types of movies for national security. No deportations as they don’t work. Just a nice secret penal colony in the middle of a desert some place in Nevada where they don’t procreate or live very long on the most basic of survival diets like cooked rattle snake or cactus pulp. Where there is a sizable amount of radioactive waste.

samurai on August 30, 2010 at 7:16 pm

The only reason people visit Egypt is to see the pre-Islamic antiquities and Alexandria, then the first Greek city built in Egypt in the Second Century Before The Common Era.

I can’t think of any other reason tourists would go there. Everything beyond the Nile is desert.

NormanF on August 30, 2010 at 8:11 pm

I saw this movie. I didn’t mind your opinion and review until you attacked the actor and then “extremist Muslims (redundant phrase)” ?? What does that mean?. That’s like basing Christianity (A beautiful religion) based on the KKK. Then you showed us, the reader, your filtered glasses while watching the movie. You knew going into the movie that you would not like it a)an actor you don’t like and b)an ignorant perception of religion. It wasn’t anti-israeli, it was anti-Egyptian.. about how they stand by and act like nothing is going on. that it is ‘someone else’s problem’. Watch it again, with an open heart. It is a movie about people not taking any responsibility, not wanting to get involved and standing by.I think you’ll be surprised how anti-Egyptian and true it is, which I am an Egyptian. I loved this movie. A complex and lovely film.

Spirit on August 30, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Jamal and i,
Read this linked article from the Muslim Observer and then start complaining about anti-Muslim bias. And this is not the only piece of Jew hatred masquerading as news in this local Michigan paper. Not that this is any different from any other Islamic “news” source. http://muslimmedianetwork.com/mmn/?p=6739

Harry on August 30, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Wait until you see the UK “comedy” – “The Four Lions” – about UK Muslims who try to disrupt the London Marathon by suicide bombing. Real funny. The film begins with a botched recording of a “martyrdom video.” As lame as that sounds, it becomes a running gag.

Moral? There is nothing wrong with suicide bombings, but they can be funny. For me the subtext is: somebody do it right. In fact, one poll revealed that one in six UK carpet humpers supports the 7-7 massacres. One has to assume that others only denied their firm support.

Anti-Muslim on August 31, 2010 at 4:45 am

Alexander Siddig is the REAL reason that the ‘Star Trek’ television franchise self-destructed….cast as the hero doctor on ‘Deep Space 9′, his ‘acting’ was unbelievable, even for scifi…

Nick Fury on August 31, 2010 at 4:52 am

    EXACTLY!

    Sam Adams on August 31, 2010 at 2:51 pm

And Patricia Clarkson was involved in that other cinematic waste of time, “Good Night, and Good Luck.”, George Clooney’s vanity piece which elevated to hero status those at CBS News (including Edward R. Murrow and Fred Friendly) who brought down Sen. Joseph McCarthy.

ConcernedPatriot on August 31, 2010 at 12:27 pm

I don’t want to hate anyone, but when given a choice by people who want to wipe me and my entire way of life off the map…well, I pick me! Besides, I wonder what all the leftist, appologetic Jews in Hollywood think about this? Step up to the plate, Spielberg!

HariG on August 31, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Nick you may not be a trekker/trekkie. If you were you would know that Star Trek had voyager and Enterprise after DS9. and after Star Trek: TNG ds9 was the longest trek on air. the reason trek failed was the last next gen crews movies bombed and enterprise writing was so bad even the star Jolene Blalock complained. As to his acting he did young smarmy and BRITISH well.

ceannrua on September 1, 2010 at 10:32 am

Your review was spot-on, but you missed the big flaw in that Israeli troops/bus scene. The bus was coming from Cairo to Gaza – they wouldn’t have entered Israel to get to Gaza, they would have gone directly to the EGYPTIAN border crossing to Gaza – how would Israeli troops even have been present. And it was the most boring picture ever, even from an anti Israeli propoganda perspective it’s a failure if it doesn’t get an audience.

george on September 1, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    What a hateful website this is!…I googled the movie to read more about it and came across this website for the first time…I quickly understood it to be right-wing but hope it doesn’t claim any Christian aspirations, as it is so hateful and racist – could you imagine Jesus Christ condoning what goes on here? Sounds like a bunch of spoiled, rich, Americans whining about not having everyone in the world kow-tow to their wishes. Read a little history (as well as current events) about the Middle East and you will learn the reality of what took place there and what still goes on there…

    mike on September 5, 2010 at 7:47 pm

I would have read this entire article, but I’m still recovering from the projectile vomit from reading other articles on the site, so you’ll have to excuse me.

I don’t understand this… Sid-hate. It’s not even like he’s an A-list actor; he gets what he can get, and most of the time, that happens to be as an Arab, because *he is an Arab.* The guy doesn’t even speak Arabic, and has alluded to being an atheist time after time over the years. He even whitewashed himself for idiots like you for decades before 9/11 happened and he couldn’t anymore, because people all of a sudden began paying attention to the color of his skin.

“I’ve noted on this site before, Alexander Siddig a/k/a Siddig El Fadil is the Sudan-born, privileged nephew of Sadiq Al-Mahdi”

Privileged? Are you serious? Sid left Sudan when he was 4 years old; visited when he was 17, hated it and hasn’t been back since. Jesus Christ, Debbie, you just don’t give a fuck, do you? Don’t even try to hide your racism.

tpn on December 17, 2010 at 1:11 am

Hey kids look a racist ! Everybody stare !
I read bad critics about Cairo Time (a boring movie showing Egypt’s postcards) I can understand these. But your article about this movie is full of hate and bad interpretations. I’m not surprised that an American has extremist opinions, you may think Muslims are all evil and countries who don’t support the USA are communists. The world is not divided in to 2 parts.
Finally why do you hate so much Alexander Siddig ? That man is a great actor and I love his job.

Kulakala on January 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

I’ll give that a pass. For those who don’t know: only non-muslim women may have relationships with the slaves-of-allah. Why? Because the slaves have to emulate islam’s phony “prophet,” and koran-fictions don’t mention a fourth sperm receptacle straying from her Abdullah.

Vlad the Muslim Impaler on February 6, 2011 at 5:04 am

Leave a Reply

* denotes required field