February 25, 2007, - 2:41 pm

OUTRAGE: Director DePalma, Mark Cuban Make Movie on U.S. Soldiers Raping Iraqi Girl; UPDATE: Cuban Wimps Out on Schlussel Readers, Sets Filter to Delete Their E-Mail Complaints; But Offers Schlussel Movie Deal Possibility

By Debbie Schlussel
**** UPDATE: Billionaire NBA Owner/Producer Mark Cuban can’t take the heat from Schlussel readers with complaints over this anti-American troops film. Read the comments section on this post, in which Cuban writes that he’s setting his filter to delete all complaints about this movie. Hey, Mark, you know what they say about your promiximity to the kitchen when you can’t take the heat . . . . One thing about Mark I do have to give him credit for: Mark Cuban does say he’ll consider a project I bring him. It’s a deal, Mark, as I intend to take you up on this. ****
My friend, Producer/Director James Hergott, President of of Owned Entertainment, alerts me to the latest Hollywood-Hates-America outrage.
Of all the brave and heroic things our many brave men and women have done in Iraq (and all over the world), Director Brian DePalma–fresh off the bomb of his absurd “The Black Dahlia“–will make his next biggest box office release a giant defamation of American troops. DePalma has chosen to make a film about the rape of an Iraqi woman by some U.S. troops. And he’s making this defame-the-troops “film” with billionaire producer and NBA owner Marc Cuban–yet another reason to boycott the Dallas Mavericks and ALL of the team’s licensed merchandise.

briandepalma.jpgmarkcuban6.jpg

Brian DePalma, Mark Cuban to Defame U.S. Troops in “Redacted”

Making a film about this is an outrage. And it’s not the first time for DePalma, who has a serial obsession with defaming U.S. troops as rapists and wrongdoers in all wars. From JoBlo.com:

According to Production Weekly, Brian De Palma’s follow-up to the loved by few, not really liked by many BLACK DAHLIA is going to be REDACTED, a war drama based on the recent events surrounding the rape and murder of a 14-year old Iraqi girl and the killing of three of her family members by four US soldiers. Oddly enough, this will be the second De Palma movie to deal with such a thing; his CASUALTIES OF WAR [DS: starring–surprise!–Sean “Spicoli” Penn] centered around five U.S. soldiers during the Vietnam War, four of whom kidnap and rape a young villager. In a move that’s decidedly un-De Palma-esque, however, REDACTED will be cobbled together from documentary footage, trial coverage, video from news broadcasts, YouTube posts, and excerpts from one of the soldier’s video blogs. Production on the movie is scheduled to begin in April. De Palma is also attached to the prequel THE UNTOUCHABLES: CAPONE RISING.

Why not make a film about the many rapes of Iraqi women by their fellow Muslims? Or about how many U.S. troops have saved countless women from the mass raping of Uday and Qusay Hussein or the rapes by their fighting Sunni and Shi’ite co-religionists? Well, DePalma would never do movies on those things. Because, hey, they aren’t anti-American. And that would portray the Muslims, not American troops, in a bad–and truthful–light. And we can’t have that in Hollywood.
Fortunately, there are a few good guys left in Hollywood, like James Hergott–and some others to which I’ll be introducing you in the coming weeks and months. It’s just a shame that the uber-liberal America-haters are the ones who get all the funding and cache to make their silver screen trash.
It’s bad enough that Mark Cuban produced sympathize-with-the-Islamic-terrorists propaganda like “The War Within” and “Death of a President,” to mention a few. Now this. E-mail Mark Cuban about his latest production choice. Post notes against this irresponsible movie on his blog. And don’t buy any Dallas Mavericks merchandise.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Print Friendly



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 Responses

How about this debbie. Bring me a movie that reflects your political views. If its good and you have experienced people attached, I am more than happy to explore producing or distributing it.
I am apolitical when it comes to movies we produce or distribute. The first movie that we distributed was Voices of Iraq. A decidedly pro administration view of what was going on in Iraq at the time.
http://www.voicesofiraq.com/
When NO ONE else would distribute, we not only picked it up, we had it in theaters in less than 10 days so that people could see it before the elections. Even though I received criticism for i, I had no problem that the PR agency pushing the movie was funded by Republicans.
So instead of complaining, do something.
Unless complaining is all you know how to do.
m
MARK:
YOU ARE ONE OF THE FEW WHO IS STILL PIMPING US ON THE IDEA THAT IT WAS A PRO-AMERICAN MOVIE. MOST WITH ANY COMMON SENSE KNOW OTHERWISE. REPUBLICANS ATTACH THEMSELVES TO MANY STUPID THINGS, BUT I’M A CONSERVATIVE, NOT A REPUBLICAN.
BUT, MARK, I WILL, INDEED, TAKE YOU UP ON YOUR DEAL AND BRING YOU A PROJECT. AND THEN WE’LL SEE IF YOU PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE YOUR MOUTH IS. THANKS FOR THE OFFER.
DEBBIE SCHLUSSEL

markcuban on February 25, 2007 at 4:55 pm

oh, one more thing. Any and all comments regarding this on my blog will be automatically removed and my email spam filters have been set to exclude emails referencing you, this site or the movie.
all the best
m
MARK:
WHAT’S THE MATTER? CAN’T TAKE THE HEAT?
DEBBIE SCHLUSSEL

markcuban on February 25, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Maybe MC can make a movie the culture of sexual assault prominent in the NBA:
Don’t believe me: read Jeff Benedict’s “Out of Bounds”:
http://www.amazon.com/Out-Bounds-Inside-Culture-Violence/dp/0060726024
Those who live in glass houses…

sonomaca on February 25, 2007 at 6:31 pm

Hey Mark…you suck. Filtering things? Is that not a volation of the first amendment? Or is that simply deleting anything that opinionly opposes your views?
I wonder why the Mavs hasn’t win an NBA championship….I hope they choke this year, every year, and all the years you own that team, you piece of crap. Droppings of a roach egg has more meaning in life than you do.

Squirrel3D on February 25, 2007 at 10:31 pm

Mark who? Sorry, I don’t know you. Cuban, are you Hispanic? Seriously dude, i don’t know you. Sorry bud.

KOAJaps on February 25, 2007 at 11:13 pm

Hey Mark…you suck. Filtering things? Is that not a volation of the first amendment? Or is that simply deleting anything that opinionly opposes your views?
I wonder why the Mavs hasn’t win an NBA championship….I hope they choke this year, every year, and all the years you own that team, you piece of crap. Droppings of a roach egg has more meaning in life than you do.
Posted by: Squirrel3D at February 25, 2007 10:31 PM
That Mark Cuban? From the Cavs? Jesus, what a loser of a team. Oh and it’s his first amendment right to censor you Squirrel3D. It’s not a public forum it’s private.

KOAJaps on February 25, 2007 at 11:15 pm

MARK CUBAN is a traitor. If he makes this film with pervy DiPalma it will be used worldwide for anti American incitement.
He isn’t some neutral god picking film projects to do. Every project he runs with has a message. The message of this one is f*** America and our military who have tried to do good in Iraq. This rape/murder was terrible but why highlight this unless you hate America?
Mark has more than enough money to initiate film projects. He doesn’t have to wait for them to come to him unless he’s a just a lazy whore waiting for the next customer

dennisw on February 26, 2007 at 5:16 am

I THINK MOST American soldiers and their families will feel betrayed by Hollywood when ìREDACTEDî hits the movie theatres.
What Brian hopes to gain by parading the crimes of a few ìperpsî, around in a film, for the whole world to see, we will never know. Does he want to smear the MAJORITY of the US military who have been brave and behaved honorably, as Debbie noted?
While Winston Churchill praised the ìfewî (the RAF fighter pilots for their pivotal ìBattle of Britainî fighting against the Luftwaffe) to the whole world in that eternal ìNever before haveî speechÖ it seems Brian is at the opposite pole.
Brian wants to give the limelight to, make famous those losers, those CRIMINALS who have dishonoured, their country, and defamed the glorious US military. He wants the whole world to see one shameful incident, repeated forever, on celluloid.
AMERICA is not the problem. ISLAMIC FUNDAMENTALISM is. And BrianÖif you only skim over history youíll see that whenever ISLAMISTS have any military power they are the first to rape, pillage, plunder, and at a horrific level! Whereís that movie, again as Debbie noted?
In our current age these Muslim ìmoronsî would contemplate and execute nuclear attacks IF THEY could. Thatís the face of Islam, today. Why donít you develop a movie that shows atomic bombs being detonated on American soilÖwhich is exactly the world youíll find yourself in if you neglect, not necessarily ignore, the ISLAMIC problem.
The Soviets had a vested interest in not attacking America with nukesÖthey didnít want to be attacked. So a ìnervousî peace was possible.
ISLAMISTS donít care about repercussions. And in the nuclear age, and the traditional balancing of powerÖthatís a big problem.
In the meantime Brian: ìREDACTEDî = REHASHÖdouble your cash!
Good luck Debbie, with your Mark Cuban movieÖthat guy sounds seriousÖ

The Canadien on February 26, 2007 at 10:26 am

I am interested to know why you have rhetorically inquired “Why not make a film about the many rapes of Iraqi women by their fellow Muslims?”
Clearly the point of the film and the circumstances have gone straight over the top of your head. If the subject matter was solely “rape”, i.e rape of iraqis by iraqis, germans by germans or zimbabweans by zimbabweans, De Palma would not be focusing on what happened in Iraq.
This Iraqi GIRL, that’s right GIRL, not woman, was raped by men who were supposed to PROTECTING her, following an ILLEGAL invasion of her country. If De Palma’s publicising of this event is defamatory to soldiers, who’s fault is that? De Palmas or the soldiers who carried out the disgusting crime? Perhaps they should’ve thought about “reputation” before mutilating their victim.
You will no doubt delete this post for lack of a valid response I imagine.

layjezus on March 18, 2007 at 12:21 pm

A few facts:
a) It is good for Democrats if we fail in Iraq.
b) It is good for Republicans if we succeed in Iraq.
c) Biased, Confrontational Media sells, primarily to those who hold the same point of view.
d) Those who provide entertainment have an unfair advantage over those who actually know the facts.
Mr. Cuban, whom I respect because he is a techie who made good, is not only consciously taking unfair advantage by focusing opinion, but is pandering to the “left” who will slovenly hand out large sums of money to have their point of view validated. Just as many on the “right” would pay real bucks to watch a documentary featuring Nancy Pelosi crassly manipulating war information to win votes.
Mark, don’t you steal my idea on Congresswoman Pelosi. I think Mark really believes in the cause and the ends justifying the means, even if it means distortion. And I would not be surprised if the next film released under his “all at once” method is in the other direction.
And to all of you pedophiles masquerading as political activists — A film based on the rape of a young girl is certain to attract you. I’ll bet you wouldn’t care if it was in Baghdad or Chicago. And I will listen to your reviews of the severe graphics justified by the message with the same belief as I do those who say they “buy Playboy for the articles”.

TomMariner on March 23, 2007 at 12:26 pm

I am Muslim and a multi-national citizen, and I stand by the idea that America is not the problem as much as Islamic Fundamentalism is. But this whole thing is much more complicated than good versus evil. I have an in-law, also a Muslim, who fought and died as a US Ranger in Iraq. I know the sacrifice that American troops are making, not only for the US. But there is a bigger picture and we canÔø?t forget that. America is based on values worth supporting and worth fighting for. It is exactly for this reason that if American troops completely disregard and smear those values that there should be a close look, lest they fall into the trap of Ôø?the bad guy.Ôø?
I support the making of this movie, and consider it an act of patriotism. Time was when calling someone a red and making their life a living hell was considered patriotism. I suppose only time will tell who the real patriots are and who is losing the plot.
Another point worth bringing up Ôø? statements like Ôø?Muslim Ôø?moronsÔø?Ôø? and Ôø?the ISLAMIC problemÔø? are inappropriate and misled. ThatÔø?s all IÔø?ll say about that just now, considering most of the people who have posted on here have been civil at the very least.

Yan on March 25, 2007 at 6:30 am

Yan, if you are who you say you are; you wouldn’t be contradicting yourself by support of this lie of a film.

peaches1 on September 2, 2007 at 10:37 pm

I’m not really buying the I am apolitical when it comes to movies we produce or distribute business.
There’s clean money and dirty in this life, good money and bad. And there’s a fair amount of dirty and bad money that is letter-of-the-law legal.
Beyond which, both art and politics have a moral dimension.
Sure there’s morally repugnant art which is aesthetically good. And there’s aesthetically repugnant art that is morally clean.
Why would you want to make either?
Feel like doing a white-wash love story about Adolf Hitler? A touching human drama about the lovable side of child rapists and murderers?
How about a sympathetic romance about that Jeffrey Dahmer fellow?
How about a damning condemnation of Martin Luther King or Mahatma Ghandi?
Give me a freakin’ break here!
“Ve are neutral here in Sviterlandt! Ve don’t choose sides.”
I know! There are still pockets in this country where blacks are still regarded as monstrous criminal idiots. So, with the right distribution and some careful low key promotion you could really clean up on a movie about some nasty Sambos who go around raping and robbing decent white folks, and then get caught and burned to death, you know, like vampires or something… It would really make money.
Give me a freakin’ break.
No. This movie is a direct contribution to the enemy’s propaganda efforts in time of war. Pure and simple.
===========
News flash. Field thousands of young men on a battle field. Keep them there fighting under conditions where the enemy blends tight in with the civilian population, and you know what? Sooner or later some nasty, hyped up kid is going to rape someone!
What a surprise!
So, contrast some nasty kids getting criminal in a war zone, with a gov’t that makes an overt and deliberate policy of torture and rape as instruments for maintaining public order, in peace time, FOR DECADES!
And, um …, who’s the bad guy here again?
==============
Ve are neutral here in Svitzerland.
My ass!

joeblough on September 3, 2007 at 4:33 am

Thanks for posting this Debbie. I am out on Cuban; I have been a big Mavs fan but I cannot abide the thought of financially supporting a man who so casually tears apart the fabric of the country that made his wealth possible. I will never buy another item of Mavs merchandise or pay to see another Mavs game so long as Cuban is the owner. He sets a despicable example for the city of Dallas. He is an embarrassment to us all.

DiscerningTexan on September 3, 2007 at 12:51 pm

This Iraqi GIRL, that’s right GIRL, not woman, was raped by men who were supposed to PROTECTING her
Sounds like Aisha’s experience with Mohammed.

Mishu on September 3, 2007 at 9:53 pm

Norman Mailer does the whitewash of Hitler in his book.

CarpeDiem on September 4, 2007 at 9:50 pm

As an American, conservetive and a veteran that was wounded in Iraq. I believe in free speech. I believe everybody has the right to present there speech in any forum. However, I also believe rights come with responsibilities. This is a story of some service members who raped a little girl. Eventually they killed her and her family. A very sad event. These soldiers put thier fellow soldiers in harms way also. Many Iraqis believe in an eye for an eye and their actions fueled and may continue to feul attacks on American Soldiers serving in Iraq. The soldiers created the situation. With that said. I think the movie should be produced, but not now, not at this time. American soldiers are still in Iraq. I think he has a responsibility to hold of release of the film until the war is over and American troops are no longer in danger. Mark Cuban, through the Fallen Patriot Fund, has provided support for many families of soldiers killd in Iraq. The fund also provides grants for soldiers struggling with disabilities from injuries aquired while serving in Iraq. I ask Mr. Cuban to hold the film until our soldiers are home. I agree the story deserves to be told, but not now.

Bobby on November 13, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Leave a Reply

* denotes required field