August 1, 2012, - 12:43 pm

Gore Vidal, Jew-Hater, RIH: William Buckley Smackdown VIDEO Contrasts w/ Wimps Running Natl Review Today

By Debbie Schlussel

I was still in junior high, when my late father educated me on who Gore Vidal was and told me about his famous dressing-down by the late, great William F. Buckley. Vidal, who is now officially dead (though it could be accurately argued that he was always brain-dead), was an anti-American, anti-Semitic, anti-Israel, far left piece of crap and vastly overrated writer, worshipped at the altar of American Marxism. His writing and plays are boring and a waste of time. But he was typical of the pseudo-intellegentsia of the far left, an emperor with no clothing if there ever was one. He spoke out against American boys–many of whom did not come home or came home missing limbs–while they were fighting and winning against the Viet Cong in Vietnam, and he was one of the media elite who lost the war for them here on U.S. soil in the media. Oh, and he was related to Al Gore (no surprise there). Everything you need to know about this dearly departed swine, Vidal, is contained in this well-known exchange between Vidal and Buckley (who might have very accurately said some of the same words to the failed, moderate, current editor of his National Review, Rich Lowry) on Buckley’s PBS show, “Firing Line.” For the politically incorrect, Buckley thankfully made no apologies for telling Vidal, “Now, listen, you queer . . . .” Buckley smacked that schmuck down good. And that’s how they’ll both be remembered.


William F. Buckley Kicks Gore Vidal’s Anti-American, Jew-Hating Ass

Now, listen, you queer, stop calling me a crypto-Nazi, or I’ll sock you in your G-d-damned face, and you’ll stay plastered.

(Hey, I’m surprised Michelle “I Am A Woman Of Color” Malkin didn’t circulate a political correctness petition excommunicating Buckley from the right, as she tried to do to Ann Coulter at CPAC for using the f-word, which rhymes with what Fraudkin is–”maggot.”)

Contrast the way Buckley put him in his place with the cowardly girlie-men now at the helm of Buckley’s National Review today. Rich Lowry praised the New Black Panther Party and Al Sharpton, defending Trayvon Martin and attacking George Zimmerman for defending himself. He is tight with and his magazine honored jihadist anti-Semite Grover Norquist on a National Review cruise. Lowry agreed to erase NRO articles and ban their authors at the request of his Al-Qaeda friend, Suhail Khan, whose father brought Ayman Al-Zawahiri into America and to American mosques to raise money for Al-Qaeda. Jonah Goldberg, Senior NR editor, is close friends with uber-Marxist Peter “Let’s Boycott Apartheid Israel” Beinart. Where Buckley had the stones to expose and verbally attack Jew-hating vermin, the current National Review “leadership” snuggles up with the anti-Semites and far lefties. They simply don’t have the testicles–or any cojones at all, for that matter–to behave like real men and call evil out, as Buckley did Vidal.

Yup, Vidal’s worldview was that if you were an American patriot, you were a crypto-Nazi. And that’s funny because Vidal, himself, isn’t what you’d call a “crypto-Nazi,” but just a Nazi. He regularly questioned the patriotism of American Jews and attacked Israel, calling Jewish Americans a “fifth column” for supporting Israel, for which the also late, also great William Safire called him out. And, according to The Daily Beast,


He wrote an introduction to a crackpot book of anti-Semitic propaganda, in which Vidal accused Jews of buying Harry Truman’s support for the founding of Israel for $2 million in campaign cash.

Given all this, it’s beyond hilarious to see morons, like the hags of ABC’s “The View,” including faux-conservative/genuine airhead Elisabeth Hasselbeck, gush over this dead schmuck and lament his passing.

And, now, finally, this worm in life is warmed over worm food in death.

Gore Vidal, America-hating, anti-Semitic far-leftist phony, Rot In Hell.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Print Friendly



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

50 Responses

Great piece. I didn’t know about the Buckley smackdown.

DS_ROCKS! on August 1, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    He is a pseudo intellectual. I have read that he attended University of Miami, but . . . He sounds like a spoiled smart ass and not educated at all…

    As Goes... on August 8, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Ah yes crypto-Nazi. We all know nowadays that these provacations we hear from the left are actually attempts at projection that belie the originators own bent. WE see today that lefty liberals are the ones infringing on civil rights, they are the ones permitting unconstitutional action withing the government, they are the ones being nazis’s on a whole range of socio-economic topics. Back then WFB like most of us reacted just as Alinsky predicted. But no more folks. Ignorance is poverty, and we are enriching ouselves of the knowledge of the truth now.

jake49 on August 1, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    I actually saw that interview as a 10 yo kid. Vidal got the worst of it. Of course a lot of the words were new to me. And it was late, mom kept telling me to go to bed. There were 5 of us at the time so she was busy.

    jake49 on August 2, 2012 at 4:05 am

eyuuuuuuuu, I could never stand that GORE or the other one and Tipper either.

Alabama Pride on August 1, 2012 at 1:30 pm

I was watching the Firing Line when Buckley said that to Gore. Buckley with Firing Line and National Review helped change me from a liberal to a conservative in a few short years, along with Milton Friedman and Ronald Reagan. Of course, it helped that Jimmy Carter was in office, as his negative influence also contributed to my change. I will always regret my vote for Carter in the 1976 election (my first election that I could vote in).
As for Vidal, we were required to read his novel “Burr” before entering our freshman year in college. What a piece of crap.

Concerned Citizen on August 1, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Concerned-

    So I’m not the only geriatric case who still remembers that delicious moment from our salad days. Haven’t seen it since, and brought to mind memory of days when men were men and giants walked the earth.

    Larry S. on August 1, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      I was able to attend a Buckley speech in 1981 and got to sit in the front row. The man was so impressive even more live than on TV. I remember him advocating tax cuts and deregulation of the economy so that the America would be “uncorseted”. Who speaks like that anymore? No one. And I still remember when he went on Johnny Carson show (I think) in 1980 before the election and wowed the audience with his humor and wit.

      Concerned Citizen on August 2, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Yes, Gore Vidal has vastly overrated as a writer. His writings today are mostly remembered because of some well-done film productions that come down to “The Best Man” and “Visit to a Small Planet.” And those are largely remembered because of the performances and direction. In “The Best Man” you had top performances by Cliff Robertson, Shelley Berman, Henry Fonda, and Kevin McCarthy–with direction by Franklin J. Schaffner. In “Visit to a Small Planet” you have a great performance by Jerry Lewis–with direction by Norman Taurog. So their efforts resulted in at least mildly entertaining movies.

    But Vidal was obviously a Leftist through and through, and anti-Semitism and anti-Israel go with that territory. Those traits forever taint him.

    As for William F. Buckley, his exchange with Vidal was typical of Buckley, but in this clip he seems to be genuinely angered by Vidal’s comments–which were, I think, intended to rile Buckley, given Vidal’s smirks. Buckely had a similar type of interchange with another Leftist, Noam Chomsky, who, at least, could talk with Buckley on a more intellectual level. Here’s a brief clip of Buckley and Chomsky on the classic show, Firing Line: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEIrZO069Kg&feature=related

    As a college student, I once had the pleasure of serving as an intern at a business conference in which one of my duties was being William F. Buckley’s gofer for the day, as he was the keynote speaker at the conference. Buckely was certainly one of a kind, and we won’t see his likes again. He was a brilliant, charming, witty, and surprisingly friendly person to meet, and he made me feel like I was part of the team, rather than merely a gofer.

    Ralph Adamo on August 1, 2012 at 5:27 pm

LOVE the smackdown. Why did everyone think Vidal was so damn smart? All he did was blather on about what “everyone” thinks, as if presumed popular opinion meant it was right. Buckley had it right. The Nazis were awfully popular, too. And what the heck is a crypto Nazi anyway?

Sean M on August 1, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Thanks Debbie!! It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a video of Buckley whipping some ass! My Dad (G*d rest his soul, he passed away November 2011) used to watch Buckley on PBS in the 80′s and I, being just 10 years old, would watch with him. For years we watched political shows like Firing Line together and I will cherish the memories of debating the issues and being schooled by my Dad about the conservative (right) viewpoint.

Frank on August 1, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Remember Ernestine? the telephone operator character played by Lilly Tomlin on Laugh In? She was always dealing with a perpetual wrong number from a “Mr. Veedal”..presumably Vidal himself.

#1 Vato on August 1, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Gore Vidal was also related somehow to Jackie Kennedy, and he had been at the Auchincloss’s home many times.

In an article for ThNation Magazine, Gore Vidal wrote that “Jews born in the United States are only living here on surfferance as guests and had therefore better shut up about “the politics of the host country.” This from a man who spent most of his time in Italy.

In the early 1960′s, he also refered to the “Jewish literary establishment”.

He is being celebrated by the left around the country today. And yet, so many Jews believe they are accepted by their fellow leftists. Fools. They, too, refuse to speak out against Vidal.

Jonathan E. Grant on August 1, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    His mother, NIna married Hugh Auchincloss who later became Jackie’s stepfather. There are more fascinating facts in his bio. His father was the first aeronautics instructor at West Point and he was born there! The father went on to be a cofounder of American Airlines.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gore_Vidal

    Italkit on August 2, 2012 at 3:02 am

If I’m not mistaken, wasn’t Gore Vidal involved with Bob Guccione’s production of “Caligula”?

All I can say is, “I’ll see you on the Other Side. And punch you out.”

The Reverend Jacques on August 1, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Thanks for this article/piece DS, and I also enjoyed watching this clip by the late William F Buckley and that late prick, Gore Vidal. I may not agree with Mr. Buckley on using the word “queer” to Mr. Vidal, but I assume William F. Buckley apologized for using that anti-LGBT slur and I also assume Buckley didn’t mean to use that slur, he probably slipped a tongue when using the term “queer”! Then again, I am not the PC-Thought-Police and everybody is entitled to their own views, opinions, etc. as long you don’t use threats to another person.

“A nation is defined by its borders, language & culture!”

Sean R. on August 1, 2012 at 2:21 pm

What a great piece of history, Debbie.

I remember the Goldwater, Reagan, Buckley influence on politics when I was a young adult. As I got older, living in Connecticut for many years I became a fan of Buckley and have read several of his books.

Vidal was thrown at the public to spread anti-American hate speech during Vietnam. Having served in the US Army during that period I had nothing good to say about him then and have nothing good to say about him now.

The left/progressive media influence revealing to the public jerks like Vidal, is very strong. WFB fought hard against this whole life. We need a public figure like him again to smack down the progressive weenies and Obama supporters in the media and in Washington.

Panhandle on August 1, 2012 at 2:22 pm

and contrary to the acclaims given to Gore’s drivel, Joseph Heller was a fare superior writer, with a superior intellect. And he did not have to sleep with male directors or playwrights to get his work produced or published.

Jonathan E. Grant on August 1, 2012 at 2:28 pm

I meant to write that Joseph Heller was a FAR SUPERIOR writer to Gore.

Jonathan E. Grant on August 1, 2012 at 2:35 pm

I only wish that Buckley had driven his fist into Vidal’s face. I would have paid money to see that.

Incidentally, in the Washington Post obit, no mention is made of Vidal’s bigotry, and in the comment section all of the gays are attacking those who dare to attack their fellow traveler.

Jonathan E. Grant on August 1, 2012 at 2:54 pm

So an anti-Semite is being honored.

Not that I was expecting anything different.

Gore Vidal is the Left’s Robert Novak.

Both visceral Jew-haters! I hope they keep each other company in hell.

NormanF on August 1, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Thanks Debbie – I didn’t know the 1st thing about this guy, but had a feeling he was a wacked out leftie based on all the attention given to his death.

David on August 1, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Vidal had a number of ancestors who were U.S. Senators, a Southern General, and somehow he felt that made him more American than the Jews, even though we pre-date the presence of his ancestors on this continent by many years (1492 – Columbus’ navigator was Jewish, and so were some members of his crew. Other later explorers also had Jews as part of their crew, and Jews were in settlements in the Southern and Northern Hemisphere as early as the 1500′s (Some Western communities in what is now New Mexico had Jews as early as the 1500′s), although many suffered the fate of the auto-da-fé as a result of the Inquisition being enforced in the New World. Jews established the first congregation in America in 1650, served in the Revolutionary war, funded that war, were among the first graduates of all of the military academies, and served in every war since the Revolution. They were also among the first batch of Congressional Medal of Honor winners, although the first medal went to a clerk of Lincoln’s law office, who was killed here on King Street in Alexandria, Virginia. We helped settle the West, served on both sides of the War between the States, etc.

Jonathan on August 1, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Not only did we serve on both sides during the War of Northern Aggression, Judah Benjamin, a Sephardic Jew virtually financed the entire war effort himself, was Secretary of State for the Confederacy and after Jefferson Davis’ imprisonment, virtually ran the CSA.

    Italkit on August 2, 2012 at 3:07 am

Very good but let me add a couple of points you left out (intentionally?), one, no love loss here for Ann Coulter who proudly serves on the advisory board of “GoProud,” a radical “Republican” homosexual group hoping to slide the gay agenda on from the back door (no pun intended). Ann-the-man Coulter is a fraud.

Two, Buckley would have fired the sawed off runt Lowry long ago as a RINO. The nerve of that PC crack licker firing Derbyshire for writing what every white person with a brain (including Lowry himself) already knows about staying out of black areas after dark and so on, stuff that blacks themselves know!

Fired over some BS like that! Natl Review has been a POS every since Buckley left.

Frankenshtine on August 1, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    So why didn’t Buckley fire Lowry when he had the chance? More to the point, how come he allowed Lowry to be hired back in late 1997? He had hired Lowry’s predecessor, John O’Sullivan.

    The truth is that William F. Buckley “grew” since that famous exchange during the 1968 Democratic convention in Chicago with Gore Vidal. As early as the Seventies he accepted the notion that blacks need special compensatory mechanisms; i.e., affirmative action. I always get a certain perverse glee in downloading that exchange (for the record, the pair had several debates, on consecutive nights, during that convention). That said, Buckley, despite his many virtues, sold us out on race and immigration.

    Seek on August 1, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Vidal also wrote “Myra Breckenridge” whose 1970 movie adaptation with Raquel Welch, Mae West and movie critic Rex Reed was named one of the fifty worst films of all time in a 1978 book of the same name co-written by the younger brother of the fraud Michael Medved. The less said about either the book or the film, the better.

ConcernedPatriot on August 1, 2012 at 6:09 pm

DS all the frauds and fauxs (foes?) out there alllllll have one thing in common…they will gush and pretend they know the FACTS when they haven’t a fricken’ clue. You have all your facts nailed down and that is why you prevail in intellecgent and serious minds. Liberals and so-calleds always let the facts get in the way (as well as dopes who can’t handle the truth) and sprinkle that with a nice dose of PC and the soup is poisoned…and stupid.

I have always been the sort to not waste time on evil idiots when they die by being “nice”. If they don’t deserve respect and they are not respectable they don’t deserve any nice-ities. And even Howard Stern asked the question about those who were offended by his speech…”Well, when is the time RIGHT for my un-PC opinion?”. I always liked that.

Here is a great example (in your text) where the Lumpenconservatariat better wake the hell up…
“(Rich Lowry)He is tight with and his magazine honored jihadist anti-Semite Grover Norquist on a National Review cruise. Lowry agreed to erase NRO articles and ban their authors at the request of his Al-Qaeda friend, Suhail Khan, whose father brought Ayman Al-Zawahiri into America and to American mosques to raise money for Al-Qaeda. Jonah Goldberg, Senior NR editor, is close friends with uber-Marxist Peter “Let’s Boycott Apartheid Israel” Beinart. Where Buckley had the stones to expose and verbally attack Jew-hating vermin, the current National Review “leadership” snuggles up with the anti-Semites and far lefties. They simply don’t have the testicles–or any cojones at all, for that matter–to behave like real men and call evil out, as Buckley did Vidal”.

I’m sorry but I am not getting behind ANY Conservative with those lousy track records. I may as well cozy up to Liberalism again! Bravo. What happened to REAL men???

I never paid attention to that wuss (Lowry) but I knew something was up years back when Joy(less) Behar was filling in for that decrepit lizard Larry King and she had Ann Coulter on as a guest. She was trying to be a bitch and ask Ann what Conservative men she was attracted to and she brought up Lowry and Ann Coulter made a quip that she wasn’t certain he was a male…or something like that.

All the jerks like Lowry (and Fraudkin) are very clique-y and I see they all stay close to each other. This is very evident on Twitter and for those curious check it out for yourselves. You don’t have to follow the idiots but if you follow those on the periphery, you’ll see they make their way to each other. Also, those who try to have a go @ DS (Loesch and Hale) show how well ensconced in the clique they are and how little they know. It’s been very educational for me!

Skunky on August 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm

I really never cared for Gore Vidal. I could not stand his politics. Unfortunately the local leftist radio station is playing Gore Vidal all day. I laughed the up above video of how Mr. Buckley told Gore Vidal what is up! That would not be possible today unless you are a Bill Maher aiming your comments at “right wing Christians”. Anyways keep the good work at exposing things that need exposing Debbie. By the way, I think Debbie has the full right to attack those so-called conservatives that are just another Jihadi front. This is why I come to this website to see who Debbie exposes that claims to be conservative but in reality they are just after their own interests.

Mario on August 1, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Hi Debbie my friend. When I saw GV has croaked I couldn’t remember who he was but I remembered he was an anti-Semite. Thanks for the Refresher. Also when WFB insulted GV and threatened to sock him he sounded just like Thurston B. Howell. I haven’t hear that particular rich guy accent in years. As for NR they were not pro-Israel under WFB when it was written by him and his fellow right wing Catholics, as per the Vatican. Later some neocon Jews got involved and it became explicitly pro-Israel. I stopped reading it several years ago (because I already knew everything they’d say by the time I was in the 5th grade) but it sounds like they’ve fallen off the rails. I’m not surprised though, they were always about to go out of business back in the day.

A1 on August 1, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    My goodness, A1, a serious contribution from you. Now if you could bring yourself to address others besides Debbie you might even be capable of a conversation.

    skzion on August 2, 2012 at 12:45 am

Debbie’s article got me to reading some more about Gore Vidal and the his perversities. I came across an article in Commentary Magazine about him, and it seems that one of his heros and models was Henry Brooks Adams, a virulent anti-Semite. This explains a lot.

Now, this particular Adams was also related to several of the founding fathers of the United States, including John Quincy Adams and John Adams. To give you just a sense of Henry Adams’ anti-Jewish vitriol, here’s a passage from a letter he wrote: “I detest [the Jews], and everything connected with them, and I live only and solely with the hope of seeing their demise, with all their accursed Judaism. I want to see all the lenders at interest taken out and executed.” And Gore Vidal considers Henry Adams to be a hero?

But on this issue of the founding fathers, I’d like to point out that there is a lot of false information on the Internet that states or suggests that the founding father were themselves anti-Semites. You can even find “quotations” from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, and other luminaries “proving” that they hated Jews. These are all entirely bogus. Nor is there even a shread of evidence indicating that John Quincy Adams and John Adams, relatives of Henry Adams, were anti-Semitic. In fact, history clearly establishes that the very opposite is true, as they and many of the founding fathers held Jewish people in great favor, including Washington, James Madison, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and many more.

For example, President John Adams and his son John Quincy Adams agreed with Alexander Hamilton, writing separately and favorably of Jews and a Jewish state long before it was fashionable in a letter to Mordecai Manuel Noah, America’s first Jewish consul, founder of New York University, and his day’s most famous Jew. “I will insist that the Hebrews have [contributed] more to civilize men than any other nation,” John Adams wrote to F. A. Van der Kemp, a Dutch-born Enlightenment thinker, condemning the anti-Semitism of Enlightenment writer Voltaire. “If I was an atheist and believed in blind eternal fate, I should still believe that fate had ordained the Jews to be the most essential instrument for civilization the nations. … [Jews] are the most glorious nation that ever inhabited this Earth. The Romans and their empire were but a bubble in comparison to the Jews. They have given religion to three-quarters of the globe and have influenced the affairs of mankind more and more happily than any other nation, ancient or modern.”

The fact is that Jewish people have been at the forefront–as they have with so many great things in life–with the very founding of the United States. Perhaps the most well-known example, is Haym Salomon.

Consider the following excerpt from a recent article, Obama’s Historical Chutzpah by Charles C. Johnson; May 31, 2012:

“President James Madison also studied Hebrew, electing to spend an additional, post-graduate year to focus on it. During the Revolution, Madison turned to Haym Salomon, a Polish-born financier who offered loans well below market rate to members of the Continental Congress. Writing to fellow Virginian Edmund Randolph in September 1772, he praised Salomon’s generosity: “The kindness of our little friend in Front Street (Salomon) near the coffee-house is a fund which will preserve me from extremities, but I never resort to it without mortification as he obstinately rejects all recompense.” Salomon was captured by the British and condemned to death, but he escaped by bribing the guards with gold.”

“Salomon wasn’t alone among Jewish patriots. Indeed, it’s fair to say that Jewish finance underwrote much of the cost of the American Revolution, something the unjustly neglected President Calvin Coolidge noted with favor in a dedication of the Jewish Community Centre on May 3, 1925. Their generosity, often never repaid, came because “the Jewish faith is predominately the faith of liberty,” Coolidge declared. “From the beginnings of the conflict between colonies and the mother country, they were overwhelmingly on the side of the rising revolution.” He listed the merchants—overwhelmingly Jewish—who cast their lot with the colonists in signing the non-importation resolution of 1765, also known as the Stamp Act, which directly taxed American colonists by restricting their freedom of commerce. “Hebraic mortar cemented the foundations of American democracy,” Coolidge said. “[T]he patriots who laid the foundation of this Republic drew their faith from the Bible. … Every inheritance of the Jewish people, every teaching of their secular history and religious experience, draws them powerfully to the side of charity, liberty, and progress.”” http://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-news-and-politics/101230/obamas-historical-chutzpah

So the bottom line with regard to Gore Vidal is that he has much more in common with the enemies of America than he could ever hope to have with the founding fathers, much as he perversely thought otherwise.

Ralph Adamo on August 1, 2012 at 8:12 pm

every antisemite has a dwarf of gay inside. They do not know how to face their own life.

Arturo on August 1, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Schlussel wrote:

“Jonah Goldberg, Senior NR editor, is close friends with uber-Marxist Peter “Let’s Boycott Apartheid Israel” Beinart.”

First of all, “friends” has a very broad definition. Secondly, so what?

FrenchKiss on August 1, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    FrenchKiss, have you read Peter Beinart’s crappy columns on TDB and his crappy books? He’s a Jew but I support Israel more than he does. He is sympathetic to “palestinians” as a Jew and I am not Jewish but I am NOT. He’s absolutely disgusting and I am sorry, when you have a fraud like Johah Goldberg, who can write a book called “Liberal Lies…” and then be friends with an Israel hater (and I consider PB an Israel hater) and uber Marxist THAT calls his credibility out for inspection. He likes to sell his books and himself on so-called Conservative talk shows. He should pimp himself out to Liberals if he ain’t gonna walk it like he talks it!

    If DS was friends with Mooooooslim who openly called for jihad I wouldn’t spend a MINUTE here. I think is is proper (and perhaps novel in disgusting 2012) that she does point out the overt hypocrisy of these frauds.

    I appreciate her pointing out things and even if it doesn’t go down smoothly it does eventually comes out in the wash and who was correct all along? I think it’s ok to be cordial to people one works with but I could NEVER be “friends” with someone like Peter Beinart. His columns make me physically sick and he has a lot of dopes believing he is correct. DS lives and breathes this sh** and I can only imagine what it does to her since it’s her calling and she knows her stuff inside and out.

    The state of the world and the US is NOT a joke and I take my politics seriously. If I am getting info from a fraud like Johan Goldberg only to find out he’s cozy with a stupid anti-Israel puke like Beinart it makes me feel cheap and used.

    And it gets REALLY comical when you have other Jewish Leftists go on NPR and take exception with PB’s book for selling out Israel. You kinda expect that but not from someone who is “supposed” to be Conservative, like JG.

    On Twitter you find out alllllll the frauds. Like Monica Crowley who took a book so seriously she gave it a DUMB title as it was all a joke or when she shouts out to Liberal dopes like Kirsten “the luckiest girl in the world” Powers as a “good friend”. I already had the goods on Crowley I learned HERE so I didn’t feel like an unpaid whore when I saw ‘em.

    I take my politics seriously and the lines are drawn and in 2012 I could NOT be “friends” with ANYONE working against my Conservative beliefs. Especially a POS like Beinart!

    Skunky on August 1, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Thank you for the post, Debbie. I have long known what an anti-Semitic POS Gore Vidal was. I also enjoyed seeing the late WFB own Vidal in the video clip included here.

Re:

“Gore Vidal, America-hating, anti-Semitic far-leftist phony, Rot In Hell.”

Amen, Debbie.

JeffE on August 1, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Debbie’s emphasis on Vidal the antisemite is very important, and it occurs nowhere else on the blogosphere.

That said, Buckley screwed up when Vidal baited him. My liberal parents always thought Vidal came off victorious in this exchange, and I see why. B lost his cool and thus could not deliver the coup-de-gras. And this was because Buckley hated gays in much the same way that Vidal hated Jews.

For those who want a serious intellectual assessment of Vidal, Google the various reviews and essays of my favorite movie critic, John Simon about Vidal (alas, Simon has always been a nasty homophobe, but not nearly so nasty as Buckley).

skzion on August 2, 2012 at 1:00 am

Thank you, Debbie! Can you believe how brainwashed we’ve been to the decades of political correctness shoved into our brain? Mr. Buckley’s responses are a breath of FRESH AIR. Wow, I really needed to hear that and we all need to hear more of the truth instead of the watered down quiet politeness of bending over (pun intended) to the sick left’s ideology.

andrea405 on August 2, 2012 at 9:39 am

Great piece! One can only hope that Pat Buchanan will soon join his buddies Vidal and Novak in the depths of hell. Ironically, Buckley defended Buchanan against charges of anti-semitism, which is still hard for me to believe.

Martin on August 2, 2012 at 10:01 am

I believe the famous Buckley-Vidal fight was part of ABC’s coverage of the 1968 Republican Convention coverage.

Vidal also claimed that he didn’t like his cousin,Al Gore, at all; in 1992, as a guest on “Larry King Live”, King asked him how distantly related Al was from him. Vidal replied: “Oh, he can’t be distantly related enough for me.”

But I digress.

Typical Leftist,who was always bemoaning the decline of the education system in the US, and believed the best idea was to endlessly dump money into it – never learned about what happened in Kansas City,obviously.And must’ve believed it was the Right Wing/Crypto-Nazis/National Security State’s fault – instead of his Leftist Radical friends’ overthrow of it,and turning it into Politically Correct Indoctrination.

Phineas on August 2, 2012 at 12:29 pm

i’d never seen this clip before… the exchange was espically fascinating in that they were both speaking the king’s english. when buckley leaned forward slightly i was hoping to see a nice right cross in vidal’s gay butt kisser.

kirche on August 2, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Great article, Debbie, thanks for exposing the truth about gore vidal!

Dave on August 3, 2012 at 8:00 am

I’d have said the same thing to that little bitch. I never saw that exchange before.lol I came into the political realm a little after you did, Debbie. I’m going to watch that a couple more times.;)

samurai on August 5, 2012 at 12:05 am

Buckley’s answer to the charge of being a crypto-nazi was to threaten to punch Vidal in the face, thus proving Vidal’s point. Vidal won the exchange hands down.

kim on August 10, 2012 at 1:01 am

Debbie, Anti-Semite my ass. Just because he questioned your tribe’s illegal taking over of the USA and its banking system? You are the one who will rot…maybe even here on earth, when Americans finally get what’s been done to them in the name of “the poor holocaust victims here and in Israel.” Your bad manners are exceeded only by your bad manners.

Vic Kohring on August 22, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

* denotes required field