December 30, 2009, - 11:57 am

HA!: Three “Tiny” Events Missing From FBI Terrorism Year in Review; Flt 253 is FBI Mess

By Debbie Schlussel

There’s a reason that local law enforcement and agents in other federal law enforcement agencies call the FBI, “Famous But Incompetent”:

Because it is.

fbi.jpgcolclink.jpg

Famous But Incompetent

This is, after all, the agency that spent 14 days and over $2 million digging up a Detroit-area horse barn (to find Jimmy Hoffa’s body) and found nothing.  And then, it promoted its Islamopandering Michigan Special Agent in Charge, Daniel Roberts (the guy who dug up the horse barn), to Deputy Director, Criminal Division for the entire FBI.

Given that , I can’t say I’m surprised that the FBI–in its gushing, self-congratulatory review of its “2009 Year In Review–Protecting the Nation Against Terrorist Attack,” missed three “tiny,” “insignificant” episodes, as reader Duane notes, in which it failed to stop Islamic terrorism, despite access to many tips on all three of the perpetrators, tips which got in the way of the FeeBs’ (as they’re called)  Islamic “outreach” butt-kissing policy:

*  June 1, 2009:   Shooting on Arkansas Recruiting Center by muslim convert they were investigating (Abdulhakim Mujahid Muhammad–his own father blamed the FBI for not stopping him).

*  November 5, 2009:   Shooting at Fort Hood by muslim they were investigating (Nidal Malik Hasan)

*  December 25, 2009 airline bombing attempt by muslim who CIA had info on and did not pass on to FBI et al. (Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab)

You know, just tiny failures. And we can’t let that get in the way of Famous But Incompetent givin’ itself a nice pat on the back.

As reader, “StillShakingMyHead,” apparently an Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) agent, notes:

Just remember this … This is the FBI’s debacle, NOT DHS’ or ICE’s – DHS is NOT part of the intel community, and ICE has been told in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS that the FBI is THE lead on terror; we at ICE are not even in the mix on this crap.

Let Mueller choke on this one.

Reminds me of when the FBI put the Unabomber’s hut in its self-congratulatory 100th Birthday exhibit. But the FBI’s investigations led to nothing in that case. The agency didn’t discover Ted Kaczynski. His brother, non-FBI non-Special Agent David Kaczynski, did and turned him in. This is the “I” in Federal Bureau of Investigation?

hoffasign.jpg

Yup, unfortunately, that’s often the “I.” And that’s why America is in so much trouble and the FBI is such a joke.

Say what you want about J. Edgar Hoover and whether or not he wore a dress. At least the agency wasn’t this incompetent under his leadership.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Print Friendly



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses

The FBI is lousy even at counter-intelligence work. It couldn’t undercover Soviet moles in the CIA. And now it follows in that pattern by remaining completely clueless about Islamic terrorism. And we’re led to believe they will keep us all safe? Yeah, sure.

Hilarious!

NormanF on December 30, 2009 at 1:53 pm

StillShakingMyHead is incorrect – DHS Intelligence & Analysis (I&A) which is part of DHS, is part of the Intel community. With this said, there is a lot of intel divisions within DHS, e.g., CBP, TSA, & ICE Intel and there are criminal research specialists at ICE OI. With the exception of ICE Intel, which to this day can’t figure out its mission, is GS-14 and above top heavy with inexperience, and has mastered recycling intel, they do a pretty good job at targeting.

JP on December 30, 2009 at 2:07 pm

Best advice ever still works, from Mom:

“Don’t play in the streets…”
1960–because you’ll be hit by moving cars.
2010–because you’ll be hit by IED’s.

“Stop the FIGHTING NOW!
1960–Or I’ll take your toys away.
2010–And convert or die.

“Sit back in your seats…
1960–because you’re distracting your [bad driving] father.
2010–because the NSA/CIA/FBI guaranteed flight safety???

Amazing how much ‘change’ happened without Obama in 50 years, huh?

Scott S. on December 30, 2009 at 2:14 pm

The FBI has a long history of incompetence and treachery.
http://www.damninteresting.com/operation-pastorius#more-949

yonason on December 30, 2009 at 3:26 pm

Fumbling Bumbling Idiots.

It seems the only time they know what they’re doing is when they intentionally set innocent men, women and children on fire.

tempus fugit on December 30, 2009 at 3:51 pm

Hogaaaaaaaaan!

The Terrorist's Advocate on December 30, 2009 at 6:09 pm

15 Americans dead on American soil. Way to go FBI. /not

FeFe on December 30, 2009 at 7:51 pm

You have not even included the missing Somalis from Minnesota.

Worry01 on December 30, 2009 at 8:30 pm

JP …

DHS is absolutely NOT part of the intelligence community – ICE does NOT have a seat on any council, and they were excluded when the National Intelligence Model was revamped after 9/11. Know what a “blue badge” is? Well, DHS doesn’t get them, and we just can’t go over to the CIA, FBI or other alphabet intel entity and “play in the sandbox”, whereas they can and do visit each other all the time (BTW – their “blue badges” ARE NOT honored at DHS or ICE; I know, because I have seen them denied unescorted access).

We are a joke – the bastard stepchildren of the Feds. Actually, I’m glad we are excluded from the community at this point – the FBI and CIA will have noone but THEMSELVES to blame, as they have so proudly peacocked that THEY are the LEAD on terrorism. What a f**king joke, puh-leeze.

Still Shaking My Head on December 30, 2009 at 10:08 pm

JP – StillShakingMyHead is absofuckinglutely correct. ICE Intel, like all the other intel sections, is another in a long line of oxymorons. You could never get dogsquat out of intel because they never had any. They depended on us, the troops in the field, to supply them with the intel and then they gleemed “look what I found!”.

I know; I was there!

icenomore on December 31, 2009 at 6:07 am

Makes one want to Puke…

joel paige on December 31, 2009 at 9:30 am

StillShakingMyHead and icenomore – I stand corrected if DHS I&A is not part of the IC. I also agree with everything you said about ICE Intel, but have heard some good things about other components like CBP and DRO. Intel overall, but imminently ICE Intel, needs to be torn down and rebuilt to get real analysis. Cronyism still gets in the way of hiring competent and experienced leadership and analysts. I thought Morton said he was going to put a stop to all this, but haven’t seen that action on it yet.

JP on December 31, 2009 at 4:08 pm

The last thing that the real Intell Agencies want is for ICE or DHS to have actual intell gathering groups. That would entail agents in the field and abroad actively recruiting and developing sources and this would threaten the hegemony of these agencies and their budgets as well. Ideally, agents who are adept at interviewing and source development as well as UC work would do well in INTELL. As it stands, DHS Intell merely regurgitates the little useless sanitized info which it gets from the Intell community. This scenario can be likened to DEA’s decades old struggle to keep Customs out of domestic and foreign drug investigations as well as keeping it out of certain embassies….
Truth is, just like dope there is plenty of intell work out there to go around and keep everyone busy.

Wee Willy Winkie on January 2, 2010 at 12:42 am

Leave a Reply

* denotes required field